New to SLRs; first outing...

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by ec51, Aug 17, 2010.

1. ec51 macrumors 6502

I would like any advice, pointers, comments...everything.

I am just learning about SLRs and manual operation of these awesome things...this was the first time out with my SLR.

Please let me know what you all think...thanks!

Eric

http://www.flickr.com/photos/52314700@N08/

2. scottkifnw macrumors regular

scottkifnw

Not Bad!

Personally, I think that the lead in lines from the bottom tow boardwalks are more compelling. I also like the dog photo (I am a dog lover).

It looks like you are shooting from chest high level or so. You might want to try shooting from different vantage points- ground level, standing on something (safely of course).

When you feel a bit comfortable, play with Photoshop or other program, as you can really improve the photos to your taste, or even totally distort them for creative effect.

Keep up the good work.

3. Abstract macrumors Penryn

Abstract

Congratulations on your new purchase. :)

I have one thing to say about your photos, and photos in general: Slanted horizons are usually a distraction, IMO. ;) In fact, a photo with a slightly tilted horizon is more distracting to me than a photo with a huge tilt such as in the first photo. Reason: A huge slant in the horizon (e.g. your 1st photo) looks intentional, while a slight slant looks like an oversight by the photographer. ;) I usually don't like a slant, but I find slight slants to be worse.

4. steviem macrumors 68020

steviem

That's a good point and I agree, img_2469, the horizon's slant is more annoying. IMG_2470 has a slant to it that is more pleasing, but I think that is also because of how the bridge/walkway is making it's way into the picture from the corner.

5. CW Jones macrumors 6502