New to the 3G Experience....

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TheSpaz, Nov 26, 2008.

1. TheSpaz macrumors 604

TheSpaz

Well, I just got 3G in my area and I've never used 3G before in my life until Monday.
    Here's my stupid question:

I have to walk through part of the warehouse to get to the time clock and I get no 3G reception in the warehouse, so it switches to EDGE. However, when I get outside, I KNOW I can get 5 bars of 3G easily, but the iPhone takes FOREVER to switch to 3G. I'll get in my car and start driving down the road... still EDGE, keep driving, still EDGE... drive some more... finally I give up and turn on airplane mode and then back off again and 3G shows up full strength again... is it supposed to take a long time to switch from EDGE to 3G when you leave an EDGE area into a 3G area?

By the way... I upgraded to 2.2 on Friday and didn't get 3G until Monday, so I do not know how 3G responds on 2.1. I don't know whether to blame 2.2 or just accept that it's the way the iPhone works.

2. mlemonds macrumors 6502a

mlemonds

that is the way that both of my iphones have been. also does the same thing when i drive in and out of 3G coverage. sometimes when i try to use the internet during one of these episodes, the phone will almost immediately switch back to 3G.

3. TheSpaz thread starter macrumors 604

TheSpaz

Looking at your signature: You have a backup for your iPhone backup?

4. Small White Car macrumors G4

Small White Car

This is a power saving measure. It doesn't check for 3G as often since it has to fire up the 3G chip every time it does so.

That being said, I sometimes have what you described (2-3 minutes) and I often have it come back on within 15 seconds.

I THINK the difference is that when I have a good EDGE signal it only checks every few minutes, but when I have no signal (like if I was in an elevator) it checks more frequently, trying to get a signal back.