New to the Apple, quick question.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Tunnelrat81, Feb 20, 2008.

1. Tunnelrat81 macrumors newbie

Hello all,

As of tonight I've taken my first steps toward being a mac user. I've been frustrated with microsoft for a while now, but have been forced to use it after running Linux as an alternative for a year or two and eventually getting frustrated with it. I was recently fortunate enough to acquire a "dead" (power supply was shot) Dual 2.0 G5 for free, and as of tonight have installed the new PS and have it up and running. That's the good news, and I'm anxious to start exploring OS X.

My problem however, is that the computer came to me without a keyboard. I'm VERY new to the proprietary hardware world, and am curious about what options I have. If I could run a standard USB or wireless keyboard I'd be happy, I just don't know whether it's possible or not to assign an 'extra' key to act as the "eject" button so I can actually access my optical drive. As you can see, I'm very new to this Mac thing. I just can't really do much until I have a functional keyboard.

-Do I have to buy a Apple keyboard?

-Is there a way that I can use my extra wireless logitec mouse/keyboard
    combo I have here already? ( Standard PC keyboard/mouse).

-If I have to buy an Apple keyboard, do they ever show up used for cheaper?

Thanks so much for your time.

-Jeremy

2. Will G. macrumors member

Not sure about creating an eject key on a non-Apple keyboard, but there are several simple ways to eject a disk within OS X without using the keyboard.

3. stevegmu macrumors regular

4. jemeinc macrumors 6502a

dude, you got the rig for free- buck up and spend the money on a keyboard..