New to the Apple world

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jshin100, Oct 26, 2011.

1. jshin100 macrumors newbie

jshin100

Well, not all the way new as I own a iPod Touch and iPad 2, but now I'm looking to get into the MacBook Pro line-up. I looked through a few threads and had a few questions that haven't been answered yet.

1. I'm looking at a Macbook Pro 13. I'm coming from a 15 inch Dell that I purchased at the end of 2009 and I discovered the landscape of the 13 is actually comfortable. However, I am concerned about durability. As I type this, my Dell Studio 15's plastic casing is chipping away and has caused the chassis to crack, exposing the innards of my laptop. The track-pad died within 6 months of me owning it and I'ml losing buttons on the keyboard everyday Lol. The Dell sits on a computer table and doesn't travel so it's never been dropped. I guess I got a lemon. Do I have to worry about this with the Macbook?

2. I'm a student so I depend on Microsoft's Office Suite alot. Is the Microsoft Office software for Mac full featured as the one found on Windows computers? I also own a large music library and I stream movies through NetFlix from time to time and I use my laptop in leisure for making music and things like that. Should I be concerned about ram as well?

3. And finally, my Dell and printer together were only 800 dollars. I know the 13 MBP will be considerably more. Is going the refurb route good or should it be avoided?

Thanks guys for all your help, and I'm sorry if I asked repeatedly asked questions. (I did an honest search around)

2. simsaladimbamba

1. The Unibody construction makes the MBP more durable and less prone to cracking. And if it cracks, you can always ask Apple about a repair, as you have a one year warranty and can get two additional years via Apple Care.

2. MS Office 2011 is as featured as the Windows version.
    RAM can be upgraded easily.

MacRumors Guides: Apple Refurbished Store

Apple Certified Refurbished Products