New to the Mac- need to add memory in MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by elgrecomac, Jan 19, 2008.

  1. elgrecomac macrumors 65816

    elgrecomac

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #1
    After 25 years dealing with the OS from hell, I finally pulled the ripcord and ordered a MBP. The only 2 windows apps I still need to run (via Parallels 3.0) are Visio 2007 (an outstanding app widely utilized throughout corporate america) and MS Project 2007 as it is the industry defacto standard. So the MBP comes with 2GB of ram and I purchased 4 GB from Crucial at the same time (vs buying it from apple for $700..ugh!). Now the question,...
    How easy is it to change RAM in an MBP? On my Dell it was 4 screws, pop the old out and put the new in, re-screw and you are done in less than a minute.


    BTW, this is an outstanding forum...lots of helpful areas.

    Cheers!
    :cool:
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    The MBP is pretty easy to add RAM to, but you'll need a #00 (#0 seems to work for me) Phillips screwdriver. Three screws. See page 83 (and beyond) here.
     
  3. elgrecomac thread starter macrumors 65816

    elgrecomac

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #3
    Thanks. look easy enough

    I'll go to the hardware store and by a 00 phillips head and be ready when the computer arrives next week. Thank you. :cool:
     

Share This Page