New to the Whole Music Production Scene

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by tianuk3, Oct 29, 2007.

1. tianuk3 macrumors member

Hey guys!

I'm a complete newbie to all this music production stuff... but I want to start to try and makes beats and produce tracks....

My plan so far... Logic Pro... Macbook and one of these Apogee Duets...

I take it the Apogee Duet is basically the "external soundcard" which will provide input for devices such as guitar and keyboard? and produce great sound (if plugged into speakers) rather than the mediocre Macbook speakers?

What else would you recommend...could you guys recommend a good pair of headphones, a midi keyboard and what else do I need to get started? I am on a tight budget....so anything decent but cheap is what Im looking for...

Thanks for help...

2. juxtaposer macrumors regular

I posted this in the other thread but I guess this would be the best place for it...

3. tianuk3 thread starter macrumors member

Cheers mate.. Yeh I shouldn't have posted in the Apogee thread in the first place hehe...

Whats the main difference between the Remote 25 and the Remote 25 LE...

The Remote 25 LE would be a good choice for starting off right?

4. juxtaposer macrumors regular

Well essentially they are both semi-weighted 25-key USB Midi keyboard controllers. The main reason that I chose the SL was only due to it's larger memory banks for saving controller templates, but both have a 'Logic' template as default anyway, so the LE would be fine for Logic. There are a few extra features that the SL has (dual LCD screens, sliders), but none of these will be essential if you are using Logic. The pressure sensitivity versus velocity sensitivity is another difference, but again, it probably wouldn't make a huge impact on the performance in Logic.