Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

zyggiepyggie

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 9, 2010
Hey

I'm fairly new to web design and I'm looking to be pointed in the right direction.

I've made a couple of websites before, some hosted and some just for the crack of it. Mainly using HTML/CSS and spliced images (nothing complicated, think block colors and basic navigation - tables and the odd iframe).

I understand the basics of web design but am looking to progress further. I just don't know which direction to continue in. I've seen the stickys for beginners but there is a LOT of information in them.

I want to start creating more complex websites, incorporating scripts and feeds from other sites etc. Would it be best to start learning a web programming language? Or to start creating more aesthetically pleasing pages first?

Thanks.

angelwatt

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
USA
You can do both. It also depends on your strong points; design vs development. If you like development then PHP would be good to learn, plus any of the frameworks associated with them like Zend and Kohana. Also look at CMS, both in terms of using them, and potentially extending them. WordPress allows you a lot of flexibility so you can attack both the design of the page and get into the development of templates as well so there's a lot of room to increase your skill set.

zyggiepyggie

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 9, 2010
You can do both. It also depends on your strong points; design vs development. If you like development then PHP would be good to learn, plus any of the frameworks associated with them like Zend and Kohana. Also look at CMS, both in terms of using them, and potentially extending them. WordPress allows you a lot of flexibility so you can attack both the design of the page and get into the development of templates as well so there's a lot of room to increase your skill set.