New touch not playing on Bose?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by rowdawg, Sep 29, 2010.

  1. rowdawg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I just bought a new iPod Touch today and when I try to play it on my Bose Sounddock, the music plays on the internal speakers instead of the Sounddock. Is there any way to fix this, or is the new touch not compatible?
     
  2. fretdevil macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    #2
    Bose SoundDock iPod Touch 4th gen

    The sound dock will play music from From your device it just will not charge when attached. Do not force the connection, just remove the adapter tray from the dock. With the device being so light, it will get plenty of support without the tray adapter. Cheers!
     
  3. apaulct macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    #3
    My iPod Touch 4G works fine with my Sounddock Portable. Tested it with both iPod music and Pandora. The internal speaker shuts off when I plug it into the Sounddock. The charging indicator also comes on when docked. There may be compatibility issues with older Sounddocks but works as advertised with the Portable.
     
  4. rowdawg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    #4
    That solved it, thanks!
     
  5. SlamJam12 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #5
    Pin Connectors

    Does the iPod touch 4G still charge when you fixed your problem? I recently had my pin connectors changed when I sent my BOSE sound dock in for repairs to allow compatibility with the iPod touch 8 GB 2nd generation.
     
  6. stevieb1956 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    #6
    bose sound dock

    fretdevil, how on earth did you come up with that fix? i too bought a 4th gen touch and placed it on my bose dock....nothing. beginning to despair about this device as i cannot get it online. something to do with a password for router / wifi connection. how the hell am i suppose to remember that. anyway tried removing the attachment connection and hey presto, i'm really smiley now, music at last.
     
  7. fretdevil macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego
    #7
    I just noticed it needed a little downward pressure to make the connection.
    I got po'd and just removed the tray. I hate it when Apple re-engineers their devices and commits our accompanying hardware to obsolescence.
     

Share This Page