New UK Apple TV & Boxee Beta user needs help please

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by MrMister111, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. MrMister111 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #1
    Hi I got an AppleTV for Xmas. Love it. But I got sick of reconverting all my movies/TV shows to AppleTV format. I done some investigation and found out about modding it with ATV Flash. Works great and found out about Boxee through ATV Flash. Using iPlayer is great.

    What I want to find out is if it's possible to add other UK stuff to it, 4OD, ITV player, Five FWD etc. Is this possible if so how please?

    Also I've read a little about Hulu, which would be brilliant for shows like 24 and Lost, but I believe you need a paid for VPN? Any UK users have this setup explain to me there setup and procedure?

    So any UK specific users of Apple TV and Boxee help me get a little more out of it, as all I use at mo is iPlayer.

    Cheers
     
  2. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #2
    Im not in the UK but ATV Flash offers free VPN the good news is you can get BBC and a lot of other UK content with Boxee the bad is Hulu demanded it be removed from Boxee however you can still get Lost and other shows through other apps.
     
  3. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #3
    I believe VPN is a cost option for a IP address so can get US content though.

    Can you tell me which apps are available to get Lost etc? And also how do I add them to Boxee please, sorry dont know how.

    Cheers
     
  4. jmor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    #4
    Also is it possible to use iPlayer and BBC and other UK things from the US? Thanks - sorry for the thread hijack also
     
  5. tennez macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    #5
    I am also about to get an Apple TV but I would like to know first, if Hulu, the simpsons, lost, etc can be watched on it with boxee....???

    Anyone with good experiences from the UK??

    thanks
     
  6. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #6
    Well I've posted in the Boxee forum too and nothing. I can't find how I can get Lost, 24 etc on. Anyone help us UK users?
     
  7. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #7
    hey fella - here's something to think about, if you use the boxee bookmarklet to add youtube items to your queue, you can watch youtube shows (from 4od etc.). Tested it out last night, works alright as long as they are not age restricted.

    Now if only someone can work out how to sign in to youtube with boxee we could watch all that 4od stuff.

    Hope this helps - Shoesy x
     
  8. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #8
    Sorry - just realised my post probably made very little sense. Let me try again.


    Did you know that you can now download the beta version of boxee?

    It's great!

    Follow the instructions here to get the new version on your appletv box.

    http://blog.boxee.tv/2010/02/25/get-a-bite-of-this-–-boxee-beta-on-appletv/

    Then look at this post on how to install a shortcut on your pc / mac browser that adds items to your boxx playing queue easily.

    http://blog.boxee.tv/2010/01/07/the...-web-videos-to-your-boxee-queue-in-one-click/

    Try navigating to a 4od tv show on youtube and clicking the bookmarklet - you can then watch that show using boxee from the comfort of your sofa! Be warned though, as you're not signed in to youtube on your appletv you won't be able to watch any age restricted content.



    There- did that make more sense?

    Shoesy x
     
  9. MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 601

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #9
    I'm not having much luck here with the Boxee Beta on Apple TV. First of all, it erased all my alpha settings (which worked great here) and I had to start over. Then to my dismay, I simply cannot get it to play any of my network media. I added the network sources and gave them categories, etc. and it says they are "connected", but when I go to music, for example, it just says it is scanning the sources. But it NEVER EVER shows ANY results for ANY category (all show ZERO). Telling it to scan NOW a source just says it will scan it again and then it never does.

    Internet sources work much better, but once again I had to put things like Pandora logins in all over again. Hulu content is harder to find because it is spread out (supposedly anyway; NOTHING caught my eye as "oh yeah there's NBC or Fox stuff) instead of appearing as Hulu (again, the last alpha worked GREAT and EVERYTHING worked including Hulu and all my network media).

    Overall, I say the Beta SUCKS right now. Unfortunately, there is no option in Launcher to revert to the previous alpha or I'd do it in a heartbeat.
     
  10. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #10
    I think the solution to your local media problem is to remove /frontrow/movies/ from your local sources list - your items should scrape properly(ish) after that. (as recommended here: http://www.green-light.ca/blog/2010/01/installing-boxee-beta/ )

    The install page also recommends deleting this folder
    ~/Library/Application\ Support/BOXEE/UserData/

    although I haven't and all seems fine to me.

    Hope this helps
     
  11. MrMister111 thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #11
    can you tell me if your in the UK please? If so can you help me get Lost, 24 etc shows?

    Sorry I'm a total noob, bought an AppleTV, bought aTV Flash and then read about Boxee. Seems to work great but the only channel worth watching I have found is BBC iPlayer. Is there any way to add stuff/channels/apps to it please, I'd so how do I do this please.

    Any help you can give me on expanding Boxee would be great. To stream my media from my NAS I use nitoTV or XBMC and they both play great for me. All I done is add the source and it's ok

    cheers
     

Share This Page