New unreleased imac for video editting?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by blueicedj, Jul 11, 2007.

1. blueicedj macrumors 6502

Well I realize that no one would know if the new imac would be good for this, but I guess what I'm asking is speculation based on the performance of imacs for video editing that are out today.
    I'm not a pro video editor or anything (yet, maybe someday), but I would like a system good for video editing, currently I'm making short films and are not sure if the imac is right for me.
    I've never used a mac in my life, in fact, the switch scares me as I'm so used to PC's, and have, in the past, made fun of mac users for their incompatability issues, high prices, and left click only mice.
    I don't know if the OS will be easy to learn and have the same functionality as Windows.
    Anyways, I would appreciate some input on what I should buy for what I need.

2. zioxide macrumors 603

zioxide

Any Mac made within the past 3 years is good for video editing, as long as you have at least 1GB of ram.

In the past, you might have made fun of mac users for incompatibilities and 1-button mice, but now that stuff is false. You can use any two button mouse with OS X, and also OS X has drivers built-in for just about all hardware that has a Mac sticker on the box. You don't even need to install drivers for most things.

The OS is much more intuitive than Windows and much easier to use. The UNIX core makes it more stable and it doesn't get bogged down in 3 months like the registry-based windows does.

Oh, and IMO, Final Cut is the best NLE hands down.

3. blueicedj thread starter macrumors 6502

what about rendering speeds n the such, will the computer slow up a lot if I have an imac with 2 gb or ram and a 2.33ghz processor. Or would the computer be better off as a PC with Vegas Studio?