Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

carrollf

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 8, 2007
Ireland
Was using one account up to now and all photos, music etc was stored under the one account. I have now created a second account and want that account to have full access to all those photos and music. I am new to Mac so not sure how to do it??

MorzillA

macrumors 6502
May 16, 2007
Miami
Was using one account up to now and all photos, music etc was stored under the one account. I have now created a second account and want that account to have full access to all those photos and music. I am new to Mac so not sure how to do it??

You know that is a very good question! I too have the same issue but not have created a new acct. since it seems that the current acct. is not PsWrd protected, but at the same time I do not go near the Log off option and be screwed royally!

This is something that I will address at the Apple store once I do my upgrading, but this is a xmas thing :( so I guess I'm no good to you now.....sorry!!

:apple:

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Are these photos and music files etc being used in iTunes and/or iPhoto?

The basic answer is that, if you open your hard drive from the desktop, you will see at the root level a "Users" folder. Inside that folder are the home directories for all your users, plus a "Shared" folder. Anything you put in the Shared folder will be accessible to all users, so if you move your Music/Pictures/Movies folders over to the Shared folder, you can use them from all user accounts.

The caveat is that, if you want iPhoto and iTunes, etc, to play along nicely with this, you have to take some extra steps....

for iPhoto:
http://ad.hominem.org/log/2005/07/acl.php

for iTunes:
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=93195

cying

macrumors newbie
Sep 19, 2007
sharing photos and tunes