New User with stupid question. please help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by sportsfan36, Oct 1, 2007.

1. sportsfan36 macrumors newbie

Hello everyone.
    Im a student. I bought a macbook in the summer and have been extremely happy. I will never leave go back to pc's.

anyways

I literally have 0 hard drive space lol. i searched all the programs and all of that. however when i place a movie in the recycling bin and empty it. i still do not have space. im guessing there is some other file where everything is.

Im trying to delete gigs of movies but no space is opening up. this seems to be for regular files as well.

please help.

2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

thejadedmonkey

This may sound stupid, but did you empty the recycling bin?

3. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

SmurfBoxMasta

and/or logging out/restarting afterwards ??

4. sportsfan36 thread starter macrumors newbie

yea and yes.

even when i search for a show that i had i cant see it.

5. Father Jack macrumors 68020

Father Jack

Did you ever do one of those "secure delete all empty space" things?

I did once and it filled the whole hard drive which necessitated an "Erase and install" ... :(

6. crazycat macrumors 65816

crazycat

Thats really strange, try ot make a new account and see if the problems still exists. If you could not fix the problem try to do a clean install and download iStat menu which will give you some tool that you could have on the top right side f your menu bar. Its very helpfull and shows you network usage, temp of your computer, memory used and hard drive space. I will also recommend you downloading Whatsize, it shows you exactly were all your files are and how much space they are taking up.

http://www.id-design.com/software/whatsize/

7. tjevans macrumors member

tjevans

I don't know how much, if at all, you use these, but be sure to empty your trash in iPhoto and iMovie. Those trash cans are not connected to your "main" trash.