New version of Carbon Copy Cloner released

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by RecentlyConverted, Aug 24, 2017.

  1. RecentlyConverted macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #1
    Carbon Copy Cleaner version 5 has been released.
     
  2. BasicGreatGuy, Aug 24, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2017

    BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #2
    You beat me to the punch. I was about to make the same thread.

    For a list of the new features found in version 5, click this link.

    Carbon Copy Cloner 5
    The first bootable backup solution that works with Apple’s new APFS filesystem.

    Edited to add: CCC 4 users can upgrade for 50% off and CCC3.5 users can upgrade for 25% off.
     
  3. RecentlyConverted thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #3
    I bought the new version. I have been happy with CCC. I boot from an external drive and keep my data there, always worried about the internal drive failing so I don't use it. In three years I have had two drives fail, one old school (HDD) and one SSD. Both times rescued by CCC - up and running straight away with backup drive, then straight to store to buy a new drive, and off we go again!

    So I am happy to support them by buying new version (50% off for upgrade).
     
  4. blackxacto macrumors 6502a

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #4
    I paid for the CCC5 upgrade from 4 on my iMac. I keep requesting the registration number for CCC5, but they keep sending me the old CCC4 registration number. I don't advise anyone trying to upgrade till they stop this impossible upgrade situation.
     
  5. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #5
    Your new registration number should be in the email you received right after your upgrade purchase. Mine was.
     
  6. blackxacto macrumors 6502a

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #6
    They keep, sending me the old CCC4 number. They have written in the mean time and said I should try tomorrow to upgrade. This is the stupidest upgrade situation. Sadly working with CCC seems to always be some hassle.
     
  7. RecentlyConverted thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #7
    My experience was excellent. I got an email from them and there were two links to download the new version. The first link ( Registration code) is the easiest as it downloads and activates your registration.

    The email is from Bombich Software Sales Support, see if its in your junk folder.
     
  8. YatBob macrumors regular

    YatBob

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #8
    I was sent an email with the new registration number, just copied and pasted it and it worked
     
  9. RecentlyConverted thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #9
    You beat me this time!
     
  10. blackxacto macrumors 6502a

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
  11. organicCPU macrumors 6502a

    organicCPU

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    #11
    They wrote on their site that they have some trouble with their store and asked to come back later.

    I wouldn't worry too much. They're a small company, but they were always very helpful and answering my support requests in the past. I bet your problem will be solved, soon.
     
  12. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #12
    Just received the following email from Bombich.com

    We're excited about CCC 5, too, but our server needs your help!
    The response to our CCC 5 release has so far exceeded our expectations, that our web server is currently struggling to keep up. This is affecting folks trying to visit our site, upgrade their licenses, register CCC 5 after purchasing, and when requesting a copy of their license info. We are currently working with our web host to increase our capacity and it should be complete shortly. In the meantime...

    • If you have already purchased CCC 5 but are receiving errors when clicking on your registration link, we're sorry! Your license is valid and the magic button should be working soon. You can manually register CCC 5 today or - even better - use CCC 5 in trial mode and register it in a day or two.
      • We have to manually transfer purchases from our reseller partner to our server and it will take us a bit to catch up once our server is upgraded. Once transferred, your link will start working.
    • If you received any failure notices relating to your upgrade eligibility or license lookup, please try again later to retrieve your upgrade coupon.
    You don't have to wait to start kicking the tires of CCC 5, though! You can download CCC 5 now and use it in trial mode for the next 30 days and purchase at your leisure. The features are exactly the same but the purchasing process will go much more smoothly if you wait!

    We appreciate your patience. We hope to have things back to normal within the next 24 hours.


    Thanks again for understanding,

    [​IMG]
    Mike and the Bombich Software Team
     
  13. jojoba macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #13
    I also upgraded and received a new licence code without difficulties. All good.
     
  14. blackxacto macrumors 6502a

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #14
    Later in the night, somehow, CCC5 recognized I had paid for the upgrade and works. Not sure how it happened, but something clicked between my iMac and the CCC company.
     
  15. jaybar macrumors 6502a

    jaybar

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #15
    I have the new version (CCC 5) installed without issue. However, things look about the same. Where can I find the new features in the software?
     
  16. CoastalOR macrumors 68020

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #16
  17. jaybar macrumors 6502a

    jaybar

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #17
    I can read! I can't find them in the software!
     
  18. CoastalOR macrumors 68020

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #18
    I edited my post to link to the CCC5 documentation on how to use it. Maybe you can read the manual, it includes pictures.
     
  19. YatBob macrumors regular

    YatBob

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #19
    Just did a backup using the new CCC5 version and received an error message "Waiting for macOS to update Kernel Extension Cache"
    Anybody else see this ?

    Bob
     
  20. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #20
    Email Mike at CCC and he will get right back with you. More than likely, he will provide you with a fixed version to use, or give you a line code for terminal.

    The error you posted is one that CCC has had in some previous OS, which were early releases or betas.

    Edited to add: I had the same error a while back, and Mike got me going right away. If I remember correctly, the message was innocuous and CCC was still able to carry out tasks as needed.
     
  21. jasnw macrumors 6502a

    jasnw

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle Area (NOT! Microsoft)
    #21
    Has anyone had any problems with this new version?
     
  22. blackxacto macrumors 6502a

    blackxacto

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Middle TN
    #22
    CCC5 has backed up completely every night since updating. No issues here w Sierra, 17,1 iMac 10.12.6

    CCC5 is suggesting we not upgrade to High Sierra for the time being, to wait for issues to arise, then upgrade down the road if no major issues develop. CCC5 emphasizes the huge change that occurs in file management. So I'm going to wait and let you guys experiment. :)

    With iOS11, I moved my iPad Pro immediately to it. The keypad is worth the entire upgrade. No real issues so far.
     
  23. RecentlyConverted thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    #23
    What issues are you experiencing?

    Also contact the developer, they are super helpful.
     
  24. CoastalOR macrumors 68020

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #24
    No problems. I have backed up 3 different computers multiple times (manual & scheduled). The Macs are running Yosemite & Sierra.
     
  25. jasnw macrumors 6502a

    jasnw

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Location:
    Seattle Area (NOT! Microsoft)
    #25
    Haven't installed it yet. I hadn't seen any feedback other than about the initial download problems and thought I'd ask if there were any usage problems before upgrading my backup software.
     

Share This Page

31 August 24, 2017