New version of Final Cut Express soon?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by macstatic, Apr 27, 2007.

1. macstatic macrumors 6502a

I've heard that a new version of Final Cut Pro is just around the corner (May?). Has anyone heard if there's going to be an update to Final Cut Express as well?

I'd rather wait a month or whatever and get the latest version than buy now and have to pay for the update :)

2. GoGoSamGo macrumors member

Not very sure on Final Cut Express, but Final Cut Studio 2 is out and ships I believe May http://www.apple.com/finalcutstudio/.

3. SWC macrumors 6502

Considering what the changes were in FCS I don't expect anything that great in FCE. Almost all of the changes were tailored towards high end video work and there isn't much (other than multiformat timeline support) that will make it's way down to FCE. I'm sure its coming eventually but I wouldn't expect much.

4. macstatic thread starter macrumors 6502a

I've never used FCP or FCE before, and my only experience with video editing is iMovie, but from what you say it appears that FCE has gotten as good as it gets, and there's really no reason to wait for a (possible) newer version than the current one (3.5). Have I understood you correctly?

As with every update, looking back there's always something that has been (usually drastically according to the advertising) improved. Something that makes using it a whole lot easier. For those of you who have used FCE (the current version), are there frustrating things with it that you wish would be improved?

By the way, have all updates for PCE in the past been ones that you pay for, or have there been free updates as well? I have no idea what a "multiformat timeline" is, or what it's for, but if it's something I really need I might as well wait a little longer.

5. robemich macrumors member

multiformat timeline