Newbee Airport Express Setup : (

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by MetalGeek, Dec 4, 2013.

  1. MetalGeek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Location:
    Georgia
    #1
    Okay, I'll admit this is embarrassing!

    I got a new iPhone 5s with a 2 GB data plan limit and also picked up an Airport Express.

    I must be having a dumb moment but I can't figure out how to set it up to my 2010 Mac Mini : (

    Can one of you kind souls give me a step by step installation from which cable goes where. I'm using a cable modem and actually got the light to go "green" on the APE and the WiFi lit up on my phone but there was no data transfer?

    Could it be a bad unit?

    Thanks,

    Embarrassed Metal Geek
     
  2. COrocket macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #2
    You need to use Airport Utility (free download for OSX/iOS - search for it in the App Store) in order to setup the Airport Express. If you want to download it to your Mini, plug the ethernet cord from the modem directly into the back of your Mini to get a temporary wired internet connection going. Then once you download the utility, put the ethernet cable back in the AE and use the utility to search for base stations and go through the setup process which includes naming your network and setting up a password
     
  3. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    On the AirPort Express the Ethernet jack with the circle above it (WAN) goes to your cable modem. The other Ethernet jack can go to your Mac Mini (best) or stick with WiFi. The USB port is only for a printer, the audio jack can go to a set of powered speakers and supports AirPlay.
     
  4. MetalGeek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Location:
    Georgia
    #4
    Still Doesn't work : ( . . .

    I have it connected properly and the light turns green but there's NO data being sent to the phone! The WiFi symbol is on the phone and it's shows I'm connected to my network but NOTHING happens!

    Maybe I got a bum unit?

    MG
     
  5. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #5
    Reset it and run the AirPort utility. Does the Mac Mini work fine?
     

Share This Page