Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tweety3

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 14, 2008
I know there are some discussions on the forum with regards to SSD vs HDD, I've searched but found nothing that answers my questions really & as this is going to be my first Mac I'd appreciate a little advice, this will be also be the first laptop I've bought. I'm going to buy a new Macbook with 4GB Ram, but for my purposes I'm not sure of the other specs. I'll be using it for surfing, a little photo editing and playing around with Photoshop & Illustrator CS3/CS4. I'm not a pro, it's just a hobby really which is why I chose the Macbook over the Macbook Pro. My questions are would you get the 2.0 GHZ or 2.4GHZ version, and are there any advantages to going with a 128GB SSD over a HDD, price not being a huge factor?
Thanks in advance

belvdr

macrumors 603
Aug 15, 2005
I'd just go with the HDD. The price really won't justify itself for the small stuff. And for proc, 2.0 is plenty fast enough for what you're doing.

But, in the end, if you have the money and it's really burning a hole in your pocket, I'd get the upgraded proc before the SSD.

tweety3

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 14, 2008
Thanks belvdr. What difference would a SSD make with the applictions I use? Would it make them work any quicker, or is that mainly down to the processor speed or RAM? In the past when I've created canvases in PS & Illustrator it seemed to take an age to save them! (Sorry if it's a dumb question, but I want to make sure I get the best model for my needs)
TIA

tweety3

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 14, 2008
I know there are a ton of questions to be answered with the new releases today, but I really don't know much about ssd vs hdd so I'd really appreciate it if anyone could help me out with my query.
Thanks

kanpachi

macrumors regular
Mar 1, 2005