Newbie Here---Some Questions

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AdamWNyc, Jul 25, 2008.

1. AdamWNyc macrumors newbie

I should be getting my first iPhone and first Apple product since my old Apple 2C and day now. Don't shoot me, but I am a PC user. My questions are:

1) Since I use a PC, and have my contact and calendar info on outlook (not email), can I use this to sync my contacts and calendar? Or is there another application I can and should use?

2) Once my phone is up an running, I know I can access itunes from the phone, but can you rent movies or just buy music? If I do buy music from the phone, how does it get into my itunes library on my PC?

3) On my POS blackberry, i get my Gmail pushed to me. Can I do this with the iPhone or do I have to use the web on the iPhone to access my gmail?

Thanks all for your help!

2. AFPoster macrumors 65816

1) Yes you can throuhg the exchange server under the "Mail Settings".

2) When you sync your iPhone to your computer you can transfer purchased items from your phone to your account. You can also rent movies and buy movies / music / ringtones, etc. You have to do this on your computer, then sync your iPhone and transfer to the phone.

3) In the mail settings you can push GMail so your all set.

Hope this helps, others correct me if I am wrong on anything.

3. Bodah macrumors regular

I don't believe you can have gmail pushed, but you can have it set to check every 15 minutes.

4. rayward macrumors 65816

1) Your iPhone will sync contacts and calendars with Outlook (but not Outlook Express). No extra software needed.

2) You can only buy music (and apps) directly on the iPhone. Movie renting has to be done in iTunes, but then you can sync the movie down to your iPhone. Purchased music and apps are copied up to iTunes whenever you sync the iPhone.