newbie iMac virgin..........

Discussion in 'iMac' started by brake buster, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. brake buster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #1
    yup,

    an iMac virgin, pc user of twelve years and had commodores and spectrum's before that ( sp ? its been so long)

    anywho, i ordered my Refurb Mac on Dec 22nd and waited in anticipation, the only time i had ever touched aMac before was in PC World while trying to break it ( pc owners entertainment )

    expected delivery day ( 27th ) came and went, so on the morning of the 28th i phoned customer support, she assured me that it would be ' there today' by UPS , and then proceeded to credit me £45 as a refund for the hassle:eek::cool:

    ten mins after putting the phone down , the door bell rang, and there was my new( ish ) Mac

    now, i bought refurb , i have done this in the past with other items and never had a problem, and so it has been the same this time,

    a 24" Ali 2.8 extreme 500HD with 2 gig of ram , and it is in mint condition, i don't think it has ever been touched by a human hand as there wasn't even a finger print or anything anywhere on it, and all the peripherals were originally packed and sealed ( as was the iMac ),

    so i'm one happy bunny:D:D

    i did have to pop in the Leopard dvd to upgrade from Tiger, but that was no hassle,
    and it found my wireless system straight away

    BB
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/3A109a Safari/419.3)

    Congrats on your new Mac!!
     
  3. peejack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #3
    Congrats on the new iMac. Yeh the leopard upgrade is extremely simple and quick :)
     
  4. nando2323 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #4
    Great stuff!!! Welcome to the bright side of the moon.
     
  5. czachorski macrumors 6502a

    czachorski

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    #5
    Nice find! Good for you!

    Check the Apple-pull down in the upper left corner and go to "about this mac", and check the RAM amount and processor speed, and under the finder check the HD size. Sometimes the refurbs go out with little bonus surprises of better specs than ordered.
     
  6. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #6
    Congrats

    Welcome to the forum as a new Mac owner; I am very interested in hearing your experiences as a refirb owner as I may go that route for my next MBP purchase. In any event welcome and enjoy.
     
  7. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #7
    Did you get this refurb from Apple or on eBay??? I've haven't seen a 24" iMac with the 2.8 Extreme on Apple's page.
     
  8. MacNerd12 macrumors member

    MacNerd12

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    #8
    I've used PCs my whole life. I just got my first Mac for Christmas. I've wanted one for a long time. I'm so happy!

    Congrats on your new(ish) Mac! lol
    :apple:
     
  9. Siriosys macrumors regular

    Siriosys

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    Congrats! I know how it feels.....and it doesn't matter how old you are, it's like Christmas any time of year when an Apple box turns up on your doorstep:D
     
  10. brake buster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #10
    hi, and thanx for the warm welcome,

    funny you should mention ' age ' i got the new ( and i'm calling it that from now on , lol ) iMac :apple: as a combination present for Christmas and my 40th birthday in a few weeks:D

    as for none left showing on the ' UK ' site, you are correct, i bought ( placed order ) for mine on the evening of the 22nd from the Apple store -refurbished section, refreshed a few times and there was still one more showing ( plus a couple of 20" to ) , but the next morning, no 24's were showing at all, so i think i got lucky, especially as i'm pretty sure this is ' new ' and not a return of any kind

    bonus* , no screen issues either:cool:

    i did have a look at the internal spec of the machine, and it is as stated , no ' extras ' to speak of , but that is not a problem in the slightest, as its a very high spec machine

    my main problem now is swapping all my pix ( keen photographer ) from my pc to my new* iMac , i have read i can link with a firewire cable, is this so ?or is it a little harder than this

    BB:)

    ps, total purchase price ( Apple store UK ) was £1184 , for a machine that should cost £1449.....BIG savings ( free delivery to )
     
  11. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #11
    Congrats!

    Info on migrate your photos, files, etc
    http://www.apple.com/support/switch101/

    Basically you can do it through your network. I suggest plugging both computers through ethernet cable; makes transfer faster.
     
  12. brake buster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #12
    thanx Consultant:),

    top tip there, just what i ( and others possibly ) was looking for

    for the ethernet cable, standard, or ' crossover' ?

    BB:cool:
     
  13. wazgilbert macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    UK South
    #13
    I won't matter which cable you use, the network card is auto-sensing and will configure to allow the connection between two computers.

    Good to see you come from the age where you needed to know your null-modem cable from your pin to pin!

    Enjoy, I'm in the same boat and fully converted!
     
  14. brake buster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #14
    thanx to the above link and other advice my new iMac and PC are now connected together via an ethernet cable , have found each other and i am transfering files as i type,

    one small ( lol ) problem, the photo's i'm transfering total to 21.66 gig , and i'm 2 gig in with 15 hours to go , lol , some 20,000 photographs:rolleyes:

    wish me luck

    and once again thanx for the info

    BB
    ps, tried setting up my email, ( sky account ) , and it seems i can send emails no problem but it ( sky ) wont recognize my password for receiving them ?????? , will have to mess around with it a little more me thinks:confused:
     
  15. Gaz545 macrumors newbie

    Gaz545

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #15
    I was find that the estimated time for completion on moving items is always about 10% longer than it will take, so it probs won't be 15hours.
     
  16. je1ani macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #16
    fw800 would do that in 5 min..
     
  17. brake buster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #17

    see, i dont even know what that is, and you havnt explained it???

    as in the thread title, i'm an iMac newbie....

    doesnt really matter though , its working the way it is

    BB
     
  18. Gaz545 macrumors newbie

    Gaz545

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #18
    He is talking about the firewire 800 connector on the back of your iMac, which if you had a firewire 800 port on your computer, you could transfer data up to 786.432 Mbit/s
     
  19. brake buster thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #19
    right,got it ...

    got the ports on both machines and i thought i had one here, turned the house upside-down, but no joy , just a mini to standard one ( for a digital vid camera ) , and i wasnt about to go to pc world and spend £20 on one , lol ( i know i can get em cheaper on ebay ) but when this is done, its done and i shouldnt need it again any time soon,

    BB:)
     
  20. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #20
    I might be worth noting that USB speeds are burst and not sustained where as FireWire is sustained. Hence FW tends to be faster because the speed is relatively constant.

    Old wives tale here: I think FW works better on Macs then USB; for what ever reason. :eek: :apple:
     

Share This Page