Newbie - Just bought a MacBook Pro at a great deal!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by spartanforever, May 7, 2009.

1. spartanforever macrumors newbie

I've been thinking about switching for a long time, and I finally made the move! I've been a lifelong Windows user but used the G4 back in school. Never really felt the need to switch until now when I recently re-discovered Leopard, iLife etc. So I'm super-excited. Besides, I'm a UI Designer by profession so it kind of helps as well!

So, for those who are in the market for a MBP I got an awesome deal from JR.com. I bought the 15.4" 2.53 Ghz, 4gb ram version (I know the new ones are 2.66 ghz but this one was being discounted). I asked JR if they would price match it with MacConnection who was selling it for 2169 (after mail-in rebates) and they did. So I got it for 2169 - no taxes (CA) and free shipping. On top of that I had $500 worth of gift cards from my citi thank you network which I could use at JR. Net net, it cost me less than $1700!

Glad to be part of the Mac community now!

2. MacDawg macrumors Core

MacDawg

Congratulations and welcome to the Mac world and to the Forum!

Sounds like you got a great deal!
    Enjoy your Mac and make yourself at home here!

Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]

3. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

Airforcekid

:apple:Congradulations but why didnt you go for the new MacBook Pro 15 inch for $1,999 it would have been even cheaper after credit rebate.:apple:

4. spartanforever thread starter macrumors newbie

I don't quite get you. I did buy a new MBP. The $1999 one is the 2.4 ghz one with 2gb ram,25o gb hard drive etc, the one I got is a 2.53 ghz with 4gb ram, 320gb hard drive, 512mb graphic card etc.

Are you asking why i chose the a 2.53 over a 2.4 MBP?

And also, what credit rebate are you referring to? It'll be good to know as I still have time to cancel my order!

Thanks!!

Sid

5. redaxe macrumors newbie