Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kanketsu

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 15, 2007
Hello, newbie here. :)

Since I switched to a Mac last September, I've been looking for a certain kind of application but my findings so far hasn't been too satisfactory. I was wondering if you guys know something about it, or perhaps make some alternative suggestions.

Perhaps the best way to describe it is by watching some thriller movies. You know when the FBI agents stick everything they have about a case on the wall: receipts, notes, photographs with notes, etc, etc?

I'm looking for something that works AND looks like "that wall".

Here are some notes on apps I've tried so far, they should tell more about certain features I want:

1. 3M Digital Notes (Windows)
It has tabbed memoboards, which I liked. I hated the big toolbar icons though. But the biggest bummer is the fact that it only runs under Windows... and I don't feel like installing it.

2. Sketchbox
Works great. I can even make handdrawn sketches on the notes. Unfortunately every notes were "auto formatted" for display, therefore I can't have this note appear bigger than the others, or put it at a certain location.

3. Novamind
Well, I have the liberty to make every notes/ stickies look exactly like I want, but it requires lots of efforts. Not to metion that it somehow tax the system a bit much.

4. NoteBook
I really liked this app. Mostly because it looks like a real notebook. In fact, I'm using it now.
However, I can't make it work like a pinboard of notes since it doesn't support column layout.

5. Mori/ Yojimbo
It's ... too neat. Also, the objects are displayed "auto-formatted" as in Sketchbox. I feel like the app treats each object as mere data, instead of the real thing.

6. Apple stickies/ Stick-Em Up
Looks great. However, unlike 3M Digital Notes, the notes are sticked onto the Desktop instead of a separate window..