Newbie looking into IMAC

Discussion in 'iMac' started by PC2MAC2012, Apr 27, 2012.

1. PC2MAC2012 macrumors newbie

Hi you all,

I am currently a Windows user looking to switch to the IMAC. I was going to purchase one, but after researching and finding this board, it looks like the best thing to do right now is to make my aging Windows machine last till the update. The machine is cracked open right now with an external fan on it to keep it running. If I close the case it overheats after an hour or so and shuts down. It’s time for a new one, so I have not put much effort into finding the problem.

I do have a few questions about the IMAC that maybe some of you can help me out with. Please forgive me if these have been answered elsewhere, but I am new to the MAC world.

First, is the processer in the IMAC a desktop chip or is it a mobile chip used in a lot of the all-in-one form factors? I been trying to figure that one out, and I don’t see where Apple advertise the chip they put inside. Other than it’s an I5 or I7, that’s not all that much to go on.

Second, does Apple make their own motherboards, or are they 3rd party like an ASUS or Intel? What chip sets do they use?

And my last question for now is the IMAC noisy? In the store you cannot really get a good since of how much noise they produce (i.e. Fan noise, HDD running…). We have a Sony laptop that once you start using it hard the fan kicks in and I swear its getting ready to take off. I don’t want to get a desktop that is going to do that.

I look forward to the answers and do hope to see the new release soon. I am sure I will have a lot more questions.

2. rkaufmann87 macrumors 68000

rkaufmann87

Honestly you don't need to worry about if the CPU is mobile or desktop, what I would recommend examining is the type of work you do and see which CPU best suits your needs. Many professional video editors use iMacs and video editing is some of the most demanding CPU work there is.