Newbie Mac User. iMac justs shuts down or freezes

sincityharley

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2012
11
0
So Im a windows user from way back just recently jumping into the mac experience. I have an intel iMac with 10.6.8 installed. Every once in awhile my mac will just freeze with no warning. At that point Im unable to ctrl-tab or cmd-esc or any of the other many hot keys that i've read up on. The only option is hard reboot. I can still see the application that I was working on still on the screen but its completely unresponsive. Today though my iMac went a step further and just booted itself completely. I am maxed at 2gb of ram and its a fairly clean install. I try not to open to many applications at the same time. In windows I know that I can see the crash reports and get some hint as to why my win machine booted or crashed. Is there any similar utility on my imac or that I could install? Thanks in advance
 

sincityharley

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2012
11
0
Check the Console for hints.

As for Force Quitting (like CRTL+ALT+DEL in Windows), try CMD+OPTION/Alt+ESC).
None of these work as I indicated. I have tried all of them multiple times
And what exact iMac do you have?

Model Name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac4,1
Processor Name: Intel Core Duo
Processor Speed: 2 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 2 MB
Memory: 2 GB
Bus Speed: 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version: IM41.0055.B08
SMC Version (system): 1.1f5
Serial Number (system): XXXXXXXXXX
Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-0000-0000-0000000000


To find out, what exact Mac model you use, click :apple: > About This Mac > More Info > Hardware Overview:

----------

It would be helpful if you let us in on what application(s) you were using when it froze.
This happens in all applications. Sometimes iTunes, sometimes spotify, sometimes sparrow, sometimes chrome while watching a video on youtube. Again I try not to open too many applications at once
 

forty2j

macrumors 68030
Jul 11, 2008
2,585
2
NJ
Holy toledo.. a 2006.

Do you have the system recovery disk, or an OS X CD/DVD? If so, you should boot off that and run Disk Utility. Your HDD may be failing.

To boot off the CD, insert the CD, then reboot. After initial chime, hold down the C button on the keyboard.
 

sincityharley

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2012
11
0
Holy toledo.. a 2006.

Do you have the system recovery disk, or an OS X CD/DVD? If so, you should boot off that and run Disk Utility. Your HDD may be failing.

To boot off the CD, insert the CD, then reboot. After initial chime, hold down the C button on the keyboard.
I dont have either but I do have a USB key that I made from the OSX DVD. Can I use that for the same purpose of running Disk Util?

By the way 2006 was a great year for red wine and Ford Mustangs. So why not an iMac?
 

forty2j

macrumors 68030
Jul 11, 2008
2,585
2
NJ
I dont have either but I do have a USB key that I made from the OSX DVD. Can I use that for the same purpose of running Disk Util?

By the way 2006 was a great year for red wine and Ford Mustangs. So why not an iMac?
Stick the USB key in, reboot, and hold down Option after the first chime. If it's bootable and your Mac supports booting off it, you'll see it. Otherwise you'll need to burn it back onto a DVD.

...

2006 was actually a very good year for iMacs. The first Intel models. The trouble is, the insides are now 6 years old, and age has essentially the opposite effect on computers that it has on wine. Usually the HDD is the first to go.
 

sincityharley

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2012
11
0
Stick the USB key in, reboot, and hold down Option after the first chime. If it's bootable and your Mac supports booting off it, you'll see it. Otherwise you'll need to burn it back onto a DVD.
Everything checks out fine. So back to my original question. Is there any way to see a crash log or error stats?
 

sincityharley

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2012
11
0
Looked like you were answering the CMD-OPT-ESC not working, but you didn't report back on what the Console said.
Thats exactly what I was replying in regards to. Somehow missed your link the first time around. Console says a lot. Im going to need some time to go thorugh it all. One item that has me confused was little snitch calling up "unlockFocus called too many time". Does this mean anything to anyone?
 

sincityharley

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2012
11
0
Lines 3 & 46 look more interesting. It still looks like file system corruption. Do you have a sufficient backup such that you can do a clean install off your USB key?
I sure do. Is it really that time? Is that the best fix at this point? 3 and 56 btw are both relating to uTorrent. Im going to start with an uninstall and see what happens. Will report back
 

forty2j

macrumors 68030
Jul 11, 2008
2,585
2
NJ
I sure do. Is it really that time? Is that the best fix at this point? 3 and 56 btw are both relating to uTorrent. Im going to start with an uninstall and see what happens. Will report back
I feel like uTorrent is just reporting the symptom of the overall problem. You might be able to fix it more permanently just by deleting and recreating the Downloads folder. But if you've never done a clean reinstall, it might be about time. That would be a lot of OS X patches on top of each other, starting from.. hmm.. Tiger?
 

sincityharley

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2012
11
0
I feel like uTorrent is just reporting the symptom of the overall problem. You might be able to fix it more permanently just by deleting and recreating the Downloads folder. But if you've never done a clean reinstall, it might be about time. That would be a lot of OS X patches on top of each other, starting from.. hmm.. Tiger?
ill try the downloads recreate. Since I've owned the iMac I've upgraded the HD to a 500Gb and the only OS to ever be installed was a clean install of Snow Leopard about 6 months ago
 

sincityharley

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 21, 2012
11
0

JnDRader

macrumors regular
Mar 18, 2008
101
1
Actually does this make sense a little? If the stock iMac came with a 150GB HD and I put in a larger and faster 500 GB HD. Would/could the new HD be producing more heat and throwing the cooling balance out of whack? Or am I reaching?
Possibility but not likely IMO. Have you done a verify permissions on your disk? That fixed some hangup and slow down problems for me on my 2008 iMac. Well, once I ran the repair procedure anyway :).