Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kenoh

macrumors demi-god
Original poster
Jul 18, 2008
Glasgow, UK
Hi all,

I am a real beginner in photography - I enjoy it but I am a newbie so please be tolerant.

I bought myself a Canon 1100d entry dSLR in February and I am still learning to take a good picture as in composition, lighting and colour. I am enjoying the learning journey and I am chuffed at how much better pictures I now take. I know I need to buy a better camera at some point but cant decide. 7d/6d/5dmkii... am I really THAT into it? - sorry

However, I particularly enjoy trying to take pictures of the moon. I have my 1100d with a couple of lenses, the 18-55mm kit, the 75-300mm kit, 50mm f2.8 and a 18-200mm and a tripod. So I have toys to play with.

I find taking photos of the moon are better on the 300mm lens as opposed to the 200mm. The extra zoom (please dont lecture on the terminology - I know I am a noob but let me enjoy my ignorance a little longer :) ) outweighing the IQ of the 200mm (dont laugh, photosnobs I know both lenses are entry level and no match for L series).

So here is my question, how best can i take the next step? do I go to a prime 400mm L series or 100-400 L lens at £1000? or would I be better getting a 6 inch newtonian (or similar) telescope and an adapter for £350?

Are both options a waste of time given the limitations of my camera? am I going to want to take deeper space pictures once I get a decent moon shot?

Budget wise, £1500 is about the top end I would go to. Not for financial reasons, just the caveat that I just might not be THAT into it.

Advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
K.

PsudoPowerPoint

macrumors regular
Sep 18, 2008
San Diego CA, USA