Newbie Needs Help with HTPC

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by co80126, Apr 15, 2011.

1. co80126 macrumors newbie

So im new to the whole HTPC set up. I have about 1.5 TB of movies saved on an external HD, and i just bought a mac mini server to use as a HTPC. I have it hooked up to my samsung 46' LED. I also have a Synology DiskStation 4-Bay Network Attached Storage DS411J with 4 2TB drives that i will be hooking up to the mac mini. What I need help with are two things.

1. I hooked up the mac mini real quick to watch a movie (running Plex) and the movie looks laggy and is not very good quality (480p). Is this what I can always expect from my HTPC?

2. Since the Synology Diskstation also comes with server software, am i better off returning the mac mini server, getting the scaled down version, putting in my own memory and then using the Diskstations server?

Thank you in advance from a novice!!!!

2. waw74 macrumors 68030

you don't need the server version, for file sharing, the regular version will do.
    chances are pretty good if you have to ask if you need the server in a forum, you don't need it.
    the OS X server has additional things that you probably will never use (ical, mail, ichat servers and such)
    plus you'll gain a dvd drive for burning, and ripping.

try playing back the movie in VLC, it's a great standalone player, and will handle most anything thrown at it. it's a good test to see if the problem is with your file or the player.

the synology unit you mention, is a stand alone NAS, so any computer on your network will access it directly, not through the mini.

in Plex, go to settings -> videos, and disable hardware decoding, that can solve some problems, it seems to be hit or miss.
    also if your file has HD audio (DTS-HD or TrueHD) it will cause video and audio stuttering, it will handle regular DTS and dolby digital, try selecting a different audio track.