Newbie pentax kx ? About value changes.

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by shizz, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. shizz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #1
    When working in manual setting on the body and lens. Should my shutter speed and aperture value change after each exopsure? For example if I'm taking a pic of a can and set my numbers it takes that pic. But the numbers switch on there own right after. So I have to set them again for the next exposure. Just to take a pic of the same can. What am I doing wrong.??? I'm using a pentax k-x dslr with the 18-55mm kit lens. Thanks in advance
     
  2. Edge100 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Where am I???
    #2
    If the numbers are switching on their own, you're not in manual mode. In fact, it sounds like you are in a fully automatic mode (or program mode at least).

    A quick overview of the manual and semi-manual modes:

    Tv (shutter priority): you control the shutter speed, and the camera controls aperture based on the ISO speed you've set; use this mode when you absolutely need to stop motion or otherwise need a specific shutter speed

    Av (aperture priority): you control the aperture size, and the camera controls shutter speed based on the ISO speed you've set; use this when you want fine control over depth of field, and have enough light to ensure adequate shutter speed

    M (full manual): you control everything; I would suggest learning this mode as well as you can. You presumably bought a DSLR because you wanted more control over your images; well, here's your chance. There certainly are good reasons to use Av or Tv mode (such as when you're shooting subjects in constantly changing light), but learning to use M mode effectively is an important skill.
     
  3. shizz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #3
    Edge100. Thanks for the quick responce but i am in manual. The dial on the body is set to M and on the side of the lens it's set to MF.
     
  4. Edge100 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Where am I???
    #4
    That's strange then.

    Is the camera actually changing the exposure of the image or is it just suggesting new settings? I'm not familiar with Pentax specifically. On Canon bodies there's a little exposure indicator on the right side or bottom of the viewfinder which, when in M mode the camera, indicates the exposure relative to 0EV, which is proper exposure. So if the proper exposure is ISO 100, f/16, 1/100 and you are set to ISO 100, f/11, 1/100, the camera will indicate an overexposure of 1EV, but it wont change your settings to correct this.
     
  5. Designer Dale macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #5
    There is a forum on DP Review for Pentax owners. They may be more able to answer this question. My only thought is that it resets to a default setting after each shot while in manual.

    Pentax Forum. You may need to register.

    Dale
     
  6. TheReef macrumors 68000

    TheReef

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    NSW, Australia.
    #6
    You're not by any chance hitting the green button?
    That'll automatically change your variables to get a correct exposure when in M.

    The only other real reason I can think of is if you're in exposure bracket mode.
    After each exposure, it'll change your exposure settings.
    (It'll take one neutral, one over exposed and one underexposed, something like 0 + - ).

    The option should be found in the menu with burst settings, 2 second timer (mirror lock up), 10 second timer, etc.
     
  7. Ruahrc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #7
    I'm betting it's this. If you take 3 or 4 pictures, do the exposure values cycle in a repeating sequence?
     
  8. shizz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #8
    the bracketing was turned on making my settings change. turned it off and they stopped changing
     

Share This Page