Newbie podcast question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Luis Ortega, Apr 9, 2009.

1. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

I have looked around and can't find any guides for my particular needs, so maybe someone here can advise me.
    I am a teacher and would like to make little instructional podcasts that include still images of a process and some narration over them.
    I need to be able to control how long to make the still images last on screen so that they fit the narration.
    I also want to know the best way to package it/export it so that it can be emailed or played on mobile phones.
    Can I use something like Final Cut Pro to create a timeline?
    If so, then what do I do to export it?
    Should I prepare the still images first in Photoshop to reduce their file sizes and make the FCP timeline a smaller file size when rendered?
    Can anyone please advise me on the best way to do this work as a podcast?
    Thanks for any advice.

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Garageband works fabulously for the purpose. It even allows you to import pictures like you mention.

3. Luis Ortega thread starter macrumors 6502a

Thanks, I looked at Garageband but I don't see how to add pictures so that they are timed to show as long as I need. I also wanted to add some simple transitions, such as a dissolve, between images to make it flow a little smoother.

4. Luis Ortega thread starter macrumors 6502a

I read up on a lot of podcast stuff but it all seems geared toward music podcasts. I went ahead and edited my little movie on FCP so that I could put in some transitions between image clips. I got my narration and a second music track and my pictures with transitions and my titles all done the way I wanted and rendered it as a quicktime movie.

It all works fine, except that it's not really a podcast since it is an 80MB file.