Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jchildress

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 9, 2008
So I'm completely new to Objective-C, about 2 days now, and I have a scripting background with a little bit of C experience. So if this question is way too newbie then I apologize.

I'm trying to create an app with a 4 button TabBar controller at the bottom, and have two of the tab views be a simple drilldown TableList controller.

Do I need to make a navigation controller to control the TableList? Or can I just add the TableList to the view of the tab and it will do the drilldown for me?

And I guess if somebody can suggest a code flow for this idea, that would be great. I'm thinking that I should first create a tabBar program project. then modify the tabBar to have 4 buttons that each point to a simple view. then build upon each of those views.

Any suggestions or comments would be appreciated.

kainjow

Moderator emeritus
Jun 15, 2000
You will most likely want a navigation controller, because that is what allows you to go forward/backwards with different views. But yes, start off with the tab bar, then add in the view controllers (which will probably all be navigation controllers, which in turn contain table view controllers and standard view controllers). Lots of view controllers :)

jchildress

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 9, 2008
This is where I get confused. let me try to explain what I have going.

My main app is an NSObject with a window and UITabBarController. I have the tabbar controller setup (in the mainWindow.xib file) in UI builder to use 4 buttons and each button links to a new NIB file. all 4 nib files are are simple UIViewControllers. This works as expected and I assume that the NIB file handles all of the view switching behind the scenes becuase I do not see any code that handles tabbar buttons being pressed.