Newbie question on iMovie - please be gentle

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by charlyee, Mar 22, 2011.

1. charlyee macrumors 6502

charlyee

Hello all, I am brand new to Mac with a Macbook Air. I have managed to fumble through and edit one of my wildlife videos. There is one question and a couple of related items that I have not found an anwer to.

Finishing a Project - This renders in 4 different formats for me, 1080, 720, large, and medium. I understand that the different formats are for different applications, but I don't need all four versions for every video.

Is there a way to either choose a format or delete the ones not being used.

Thanks much. :)

2. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

3. charlyee thread starter macrumors 6502

charlyee

Thanks, I am sorry I wasn't clear.

I meant is there a way to render in certain format/s and if not can the rendered files , that I don't use be deleted?

How do I find those files?

4. huck500 macrumors 6502

huck500

It seems that you're trying to save the video to the media browser. If so, you get to choose which sizes you want by checking the corresponding boxes after you choose Share->Media Browser.

If you don't want a certain size, go to the very bottom of the Share menu, Share->Remove From->Media Browser.

It shouldn't be rendering all sizes automatically...

5. charlyee thread starter macrumors 6502

charlyee

No I am not at the point of saving or sharing yet. I finished the project and then chose File>Finalize Project and at this point it starts saving it in the four formats.

I found some information in the Help Menu but no specific answers.

Thank much

6. SandboxGeneral Moderator

SandboxGeneral

Staff Member

You don't need to do the File --> Finalize Project. Just go to Share and Export Movie and then select the type of file you want. It will only save one file in the format you choose and not four different ones. See attached screen shots.

Attached Files: