Newbie Question on Xcode

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by theagentx, May 10, 2009.

  1. theagentx macrumors newbie

    theagentx

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    #1
    I was seeing a screen shot of a Mac programmer on the web and it looked like he had a flowchart or something in the background that looked like program code,etc in it. What is that tool and what is it used for? I looked in my books and did not see anything referring to it. Just a newbie question...it feels like I am missing out on something here.
     
  2. lee1210 macrumors 68040

    lee1210

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #2
  3. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    That's the XCode Data/Class Modeller as described here
     
  4. lee1210 macrumors 68040

    lee1210

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #5
    Wow, good times. This demonstrates how little I actually use XCode. =)

    -Lee
     
  5. theagentx thread starter macrumors newbie

    theagentx

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    #6
    That can actually help me map out the apps I want to work on :) Is there a guide on how to use that tool on the ADC?

    See, I am learning on my own now with suggestions from the group :)

    I actually think use fo a tool like this can help newbs possibly? Most of us have trouble mapping the application and get caught up in the flow of things.
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Open XCode
    Go Help->Documentation
    Choose the Developer Tools Library in the source list
    Search for class model
    Click on the top search result (should be "Class and Data Modeling")

    You will now have a page with links to the documents for how to use both the class and data modeller.
     
  7. theagentx thread starter macrumors newbie

    theagentx

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
  8. grimreaper1377 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #9
    Do you use textmate?
     
  9. lee1210 macrumors 68040

    lee1210

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #10
    No... I just don't program that much Cocoa, and certainly nothing complex enough that there'd be more than a few nodes in the modeler anyway. Mostly if I'm writing Objective-C or Cocoa it's to help someone on these boards. Otherwise, if I'm programming C, C++, fortran, some small python example, etc. I'll do it in vim. If i'm writing Java, if it's just a small, toy program I'll write it in vim. Otherwise I'll use an IDE like Eclipse.

    I'm sure if i wrote larger cocoa projects i would spend a lot more time in XCode, and I may have come across the modeler before.

    -Lee
     
  10. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #11
    You probably wouldn't run across the modeler unless you're using Core Data. Although it could be useful for modeling your app's entities and relationships even if you're not.
     

Share This Page