newbie question - photoshop quality

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by mike789, Apr 25, 2009.

  1. mike789 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #1
    I'm sure this is a basic question but I've looked all over for the answer and can't find it.

    When I import a picture into photoshop, whether it be my own, or one from the internet, the quality instantly drops. Even a logo made in illustrator, when brought to photoshop it gets all pixelated and loses it's quality.

    What is going on? Do I have to change the import settings? Is there something simple I'm missing?

    Thanks,
    Mike
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    What size is the original picture, in pixels?
     
  3. jyo208 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    #3
    What do you mean by "quality drops?" Do you mean it looks pixelated when you bring it into Photoshop (could be an image resolution issue) or are there color shifts? Or is it some other issue?
     
  4. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #4
    In Photoshop, when you are viewing your image at a scale other than 100%, 50%, 25%, etc., things never render correctly onscreen. It doesn't mean the image is pixelated, that's just how it looks in PS. It could be as simple as that.

    Also, what do you mean by "importing" into Photoshop? There really isn't an "import" option for regular images in Photoshop.
     
  5. mike789 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #5
    It's any photo I bring into photoshop (any size).

    When I say the quality drops, I mean it gets pixelated. I brought in a really high resolution photo from the internet and it looks terrible in photoshop, very grainy/pixelated. When zooming it in looks even worse. However, when I bring it into illustrator (I know illustrator isn't normally for photos), the quality stays the same.

    Scale is 100%. When I say import I just mean bring in either by opening or copy/paste.

    Thanks
     
  6. LeviG macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #6
    what do you class as high resolution because I would be going with the zoom side of things too
     
  7. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #7
    Digital photos typically don't turn out well when you upsize them, or zoom in. They can be resampled to a larger size, but it's not perfect.
     
  8. a cat *miaow* macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #8
    Are this images that are being copied and pasted? I've experience that problem copying from illustrator when the clipboard preferences are wrong. I'd check the clipboard/pasteboard prefs but i'm not exactly sure on what you mean by your description.
     
  9. Macka3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    #9
    Is it being opened within your canvas as in (File>Open>) Or are you dragging it in. Whats your DPI?
     
  10. efxgraphx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Sugar Land, TX
    #10
    Hey Mike,

    Can you give a sample? (ie link from a image on the web) so we can open it ourself?

    If your saving a image from the web then opening it with Photoshop (ie "Save Linked file as......" your getting the EXACT image. IF you are copying the image or dragging it into to Photoshop it will depend on your settings. I still would like to see a link and test it myself to see if there are any issues or if it possibly could be something on your end.

    Thanks
     
  11. mike789 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #11
    Ahhh I've been dragging it in. When I open it from a saved file it works well. I guess I've just been using lower quality pictures than I thought.

    How do I look at my settings for dragging an image in (clipboard prefs?)?

    Also another question: why does text from illustrator turn so pixelated when brought into photoshop? Or is this just another problem on my end and it's not supposed to lol.

    Thanks
     
  12. IgnatiusTheKing macrumors 68040

    IgnatiusTheKing

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    das Fort
    #12
    Are you copying/pasting text from AI? If so, when you paste it will ask you what sort of paste you want to do. Choose "Smart Object" and you will be able to scale it up or down as many times as you'd like without without losing resolution. If you want to edit it, double-click the layer and it will open it in AI.
     
  13. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #13
    What is the dpi you are using on the original before you drag and drop a picture on to it? I can see something like this playing out.. You have your dpi set to 240. You bring in a picture that is 72dpi. You scale the picture to a larger size thus causing pixilation.
     
  14. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #14
    I think the easiest way to know is attached the original picture here and we can tell you if it's photoshop or if it's the picture's quality. :)
     
  15. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #15
    The quality does not drop. You need to read the manual or contact Adobe for support.
     

Share This Page