newbie question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mbpnewbie, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. mbpnewbie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #1
    About 10 days ago, I became a mac owner, however I have a few niggles I was wondering if there was a way to remedy
    1. Is there a way to set up different "profiles" in regards to the graphics cards. IE have the 9600m run while on ac and the 9400m run while on battery?
    2. None of my movies I downloaded on my windows machine seem to work on my new MBP
    Thanks in Advance!!!
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    You're Irish, are you? Welcome.

    2. They're probably not MP4s or MOVs. Download HandBrake to convert them from your Windows format to something that iTunes and QuickTime can read.

    Or just download WMV player and Perian as QuickTime addons.
     
  3. mbpnewbie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #3
    No, but I do have a t-shirt that says I am. :D
    Anyway, that perian thing solved my problems. Any word on whether you can use different video cards on different power sources?
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    I don't believe you can. A decent software update is all that is needed to change that, or so I'm told.
     
  5. mbpnewbie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #5
    I have the latest software.. as I said, I just bought the unibody MBP 10 days ago
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Yes, and there is no software existing that will let you do it yet. All that they need are a (future) software update.
     
  7. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #7
    I think TS is trying to say that this type of functionality may be present in a future firmware update, but with the current version, you must log out and log back in in order to switch GPU's. You cannot do it during an active session.
     
  8. mbpnewbie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #8
    Thanks for clarifying. That's the only thing I don't like about my new computer.. I've used PCs since windows 95 was first released and was surprised how quickly I've learned OSX
     
  9. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #9
    Mpeg streamclip will allow a transcode, but handbrake works from video_ts folders.
     
  10. robEstyles macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    #10
    If you don't want to run them through quicktime or iTunes. You can download VLC. It runs basically any movie file you can throw at it and its free.
     
  11. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #11
    Maybe I'm misunderstanding you, but Handbrake will convert almost any format. You can use Handbrake to convert AVI files to MP4.
     
  12. mbpnewbie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #12
    I installed the perian plug-in and Divx for mac... all problems solved:D
     
  13. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #13
    Here's a screen grab from versiontracker's download for HB v.9.3

    If you could let me know how you convert the files with HB, I'd appreciate it as it would simplify conversions for me.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #14
    If you have the latest version, just open any AVI file in Handbrake (using the Source icon) and convert it to an iPod/iPhone/AppleTV format. I do this all the time. You do this the same way you would convert a VIDEO_TS folder.
     
  15. miamialley macrumors 68030

    miamialley

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #15
    Am I the only one wondering what the hell is a niggle?
     
  16. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #16
    I think it's a typo... it's supposed to say "nipple". :D
     
  17. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #17
    Little thing bothering you.

    You learn a lot living in another country.
     
  18. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #18
    HB .9.3 is the latest version I can find and any attempt to select a non video_ts folder provides a message that "no valid title can be found". Is it codec issue? What codec is used to encode your AVI files to begin with?
     
  19. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #19
    I'm really not sure. Maybe someone can jump in and help.

    I have a lot of codecs installed, but I don't think Handbrake uses any of them. I do know that it uses the latest version of the VLC Player for decryption, but that doesn't have anything to do with AVI files.
     

Share This Page