iPad mini newbie to iPad, questions please.

Discussion in 'iPad' started by kenny1999, Dec 16, 2013.

1. kenny1999, Dec 16, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2013

kenny1999 macrumors member

Hi

Being a complete newbie to iPad, I have bought an iPad Mini with retina display (simple Wifi version only without 3G/Cellular) from the local apple store. Now I have some questions.

1. This is only a Wifi version. My mobile service provider allows sharing 3G data through Wifi with Personal hotspot setting. I think it's high time to buy a portable charger/battery for my iPhone (and iPad as well). There are a lot of such battery/charger in the market. (I am next to China) . I would like to know what do I have to take care of when buying such portable charger? They might range from 4000mAh to 20,000mAh battery size, is this number bigger always better? I still remember many years ago I had a HTC mobile device and I charged it with a bad charger and the battery became bigger and bigger and it was obviously abnormal and i threw it away.

Could the battery of iPhone or iPad overcharge or result in any disadvantages if they are being charged with unknown portable charger.

2. What is the best material of an iPad case if I don't want to invest on the original smartcover? Leather or Silicone? Could leather traps the heat and make the iPad too hot? Would Silicone be too tough to scratch the iPad? Thanks all

3. My iPad is still newly unboxed and has never been turned on. In order to conserve the battery and enjoy the device in the best way, I would like to know if there are such old school rumors like charging the battery for 10 hours or 24 hours for the first time or something like using up all the battery (to 0%) before re-charging it? Thank You

2. v0lume4 macrumors 65816

v0lume4

Howdy, Kenny! I couldn't be more happy for you and your new iPad. Congrats! :) Regarding your questions...