Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mohammad

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 7, 2008
Netherlands
Hi!!

Well I'm totally new to the Macworld, so I'm planning to refresh hardware's around me with Apple gadgets!! i just posted a note in the Macbook Pro forum, now the second post comes here..

Since I live in Iran, I've to buy the unlocked phone. Can anyone please describe the pro's and con's of the unlocked version in details?

Is it best that I buy a locked phone, then I unlock it myself? or I just buy an unlocked one from the begining?

Any additional info provided is much appreciated as well!

Thanks,
Mohammad

TEG

macrumors 604
Jan 21, 2002
Langley, Washington
It is much easier to purchase an unlocked phone than to deal with attempting to unlock it yourself. As long as the unlocked version is done right you shouldn't notice anything different from the normal. However, thinking about it, you are in a place where it may be difficult to find someone to assist you if a new software update were to relock the phone, you may want to unlock it yourself so you are familiar with the process.

Welcome to Mac Community.

TEG

moel

macrumors 6502
Nov 7, 2007
I would personally wait until the 1.1.4 Out of the box comes along! Then buy an unlocked one from the internet and then and this bit is very important

DO NOT UPGRADE IT UNTIL YOU ARE SURE YOU CAN SOFTWARE UNLOCK IT

mohammad

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 7, 2008
Netherlands
It is much easier to purchase an unlocked phone than to deal with attempting to unlock it yourself. As long as the unlocked version is done right you shouldn't notice anything different from the normal. However, thinking about it, you are in a place where it may be difficult to find someone to assist you if a new software update were to relock the phone, you may want to unlock it yourself so you are familiar with the process.

Welcome to Mac Community.

TEG