newbie using mac... Can I switch the GPU option manually with the NEW MBP??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by blackcolor, May 7, 2010.

  1. blackcolor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    #1
    dear all,

    I just having my new mbp lately, and I was a newbie using mac.

    is there any app can help for choose the GPU option manually ??

    thanks a lot !!

    last, sorry for my poor english and I'm so happy to be a member here !!

    Regards,

    black
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    You can either use the dedicated GPU solely or the hybrid solution of integrated and dedicated GPU. Look into System Preferences > Energy Saver.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]



    Also have a look at the following links, as the information presented there might be helpful in your future endeavours into Mac OS X and could clear up initial confusion and may even prevent harm to your system or your files.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  3. blackcolor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    #3
    but if I untick the "automatic" , it will be using the 330m ONLY !:(

    can I choose to using the built in intel HD manually ??:confused:

    thanks !!
     
  4. DanteDrac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #4
    The answer is no. There is currently NO way to toggle using only the intel IGP.

    It will either be auto switching between the IGP and Nvidia chip or full time on Nvidia.
     
  5. a4209797 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    #5
    eh yea there is. i'm guessing it'll be out in gfxcardstatus soon when bitninja implements the code that ah- just finished.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=901521&page=17
     
  6. Matt 2.x macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #7
    But don't forget that part of the app is expiremental. You might or might not expirence problems with it. But don't worry it won't hurt your computer.
    Look for version 7 coming out in a few days with improved graphic switching.
     
  7. blackcolor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    #8
    Thanks all !!

    I've install the gfxcardstatus 1.6.1 now !!

    that's the point what I want to do, it's useful !!

    thanks so much !!
     
  8. Matt 2.x macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    #9
    Don't thank us, thank bitninja.
    That and tell everyone with the new mbp about this program.
     

Share This Page