Newbie, Website Design, Publish?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by onemacmini, Apr 23, 2010.

  1. onemacmini macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #1
    Here Goes,

    I have designed a website using photoshop and shown my client and he loves it. the problem is im fairly new to all of this and its where to go now?

    i have made a copy of it in iWeb but its where i go now?

    he wants the domain he has requested which is avaliable and i am buying it tonight, now i just need to work out how to publish it? and the best way in doing so?

    The website is fairly simple. For A Driving Instructor. Cartoon type layout with front page, about me, and contact us.

    Any idea's guys?

    thanks in advance,

    Miles
     
  2. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    You will need to find a hosting service. There are a variety of free ones, but your milage will vary. If you need a 'payed' hosting service I would take a look at ipage. Its cheap and the service is really good. You can even buy the domain through them (its free I think if you purchase the hosting package.)
     
  3. newuser2310 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #3
    register1.net

    http://register1.net/

    London based. Awesome service, good value for money and comes highly recommended.

    The offer domains and hosting.
     
  4. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #4
    Sign up with a hosting service. You may likely find it easier to buy the domain name from then too, since it avoids the hassles of transferring it to them later.

    Once you have the server space, you can easily publish it there via iWeb.
     
  5. harveypooka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #5
    Bluehost are great value for money and can support multiple domains.

    If you're UK, I'm not so sure, but stay away from Streamline! They suck dog balls.
     
  6. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #6
    right so host is potentional chossen. now what to design it with?

    can i use the iweb one ive made or will i need other software? i tried adobe catalyst but was extremely confusing lol!. stick to something simple for the mean time.


    thanks for all your speedy responses. Much appreciated!
     
  7. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    You can use iWeb and upload the website to via ftp. I can help guide you through it if you wish?
     
  8. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #8

    Yeah if you could? what do i upload it to? the new web package i have?
     
  9. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #9
    Right guys here goes,

    Set up the website with godaddy and all is uploaded etc. however there are a few problems.

    1. Site is faint, on iWeb its alot more vibrant.
    2. on Internet Explorer it doesn't like the boxes and creates them alot larger. (pic to follow shortly.)

    Let me know yours thoughts or if you can give an constructive criticism.

    Thanks Guys,

    www.sivells.co.uk
     
  10. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Looks like you didn't need my help after all ;). I have always had problems with iWeb and Internet Explorer. However I cannot see the problems you are having as Im on Safari. Hopefully your pictures will show the problem.
     
  11. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #11
    Sorry i love a challenge. and what you think overall? does it seem ok?
    want to keep it simple and he loves the idea going to play around with it for awhile to get it looking well
     
  12. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    For what you want it to achieve it's very good, does seem to load slowly (I guess one of my housemates could be downloading again)
     
  13. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #13
    yeah i think its because the background is quite a lumpy size. Am going to try and reduce it so its alot quicker. fairly simple and pretty pleased for my first website lol!

    thanks for the help. Much appreciated

    Comments welcome
     
  14. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #14
    right, heres what it looks like in internet explorer 64 bit.

    really confusing as noone can access anything.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #15
    What's your code look like?

    Like always, switch to a strict doctype. The IEs will switch to quirks mode in Transitional or if no doctype is found. That would be my guess as to what's happening.

    Edit: that's what I get for reading, lol.
    Change
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

    to

    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

    EDIT2: Now I really need to read! Looks like iWeb shenanigans.
     
  16. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #16

    Right, Just a quick question, how would one go about changing this? as i used iweb to build it. would i need to open it with marcomedia or can it be done in iWeb, thanks for the help
     
  17. 7031 macrumors 6502

    7031

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #17
    You would need to use a program like Coda, Dreamweaver, BBEdit or whatever it is you want to use to perform this task.
     
  18. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #18
    Had a look through it all and unsure which file to change? there are tons of files in there? any idea's which one?
     
  19. notjustjay macrumors 603

    notjustjay

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Canada, eh?
    #19
    No offense, but did you say you were doing this for a client? As in someone is paying you to do this? And you had to ask questions about how to set up a hosting provider and are working with tools like iWeb? It sounds like you're in over your head because these are fairly elementary questions.

    I know you said you're new, which is cool. But I strongly suggest reading up about editing HTML manually (in a text editor, not Dreamweaver or iWeb), understanding the file structure of a typical website, and getting some more experience before continuing to charge for this kind of work.
     
  20. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #20
    Thanks for your comments, however normally i like to find a solution to a problem not the just the problem. and at the end of the day you have to start somewhere.
     
  21. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #21
    Done it!

    installed google analytics too. gotta wait for google to check it but all done!

    cheers for the help 7031 and 7on

    done it using coda which is fairly simple so all sorted. website 1 done!
     
  22. onemacmini thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    #22


    Changed the above and checked it however but its still the same :S

    any ideas?
     

Share This Page