Newbie wondering what's possible with Wordpress?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by eclipse, Jul 25, 2009.

1. eclipse macrumors 6502a

eclipse

Background to question: I'm a full time dad, full time graphic design "Admin" (doing paper work and brainstorming concepts for my wife's graphic design business), full time (or wish I was) activist for some greenie stuff and political reform in Australia, and I'm trying to lose a few kg's. ;)

I know a group of fantastic activists for some badly needed political reform in Australia that excites even a greenie like myself. Thing is, while they all have Phd's in their various academic fields in legal and constitutional matters, they're stuck on an old email list! This conversation needs to go PUBLIC in a big forum, and do it NOW!

I only have a little spare time and am not a web developer, or even web-designer, or even graphic designer for that matter (that's my wife). I'm just beginning to learn the basics of XHTML and CSS, don't know Dreamweaver (but have it as part of Adobe CS4), don't know Dreamweaver plugins for styling WP, don't know mysql or phpmyadmin or database management stuff.

I thought I could learn it all as I went along and got these activists up and running. However, then things started to go wrong. We had to move from one server to another and I didn't know enough database stuff to get our old forum out of phpbb and into SMF (both of which I thought seemed like 'complete' forum software at the time).

My question is this: can WP 'dumb it down' enough for me?