News App not able to refresh

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Appletvgk, Sep 17, 2015.

  1. Appletvgk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #1
    Anyone having trouble with News? All day I'm getting error messages and can't load any new content.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Appletvgk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #2
    More detail: happens on both my 6+ and my wife's 6+. Problem is ONLY when not on wifi and on our cellular network.
     
  3. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, USA
    #3
    Verify your phone allows News to use cellular data.

    Settings > Cellular > make News green.
     
  4. Appletvgk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #4
    Yea, it's on. Actually if it's off, News prompts you with the option of going to settings to turn it on (I tested that while troubleshooting). What's happening here is a iOS bug, I'm pretty sure (based on the error message in my screenshot). I'm surprised more people aren't experiencing it.
     
  5. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, USA
    #5
    Usually, if I get stuff like that error, I toggle airplane mode on and off.
     
  6. Killchain macrumors member

    Killchain

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Location:
    Albuquerque,NM
    #6
    News app "for you" just spins but tells me of new stories(3) right now. All other commands just fine.
     
  7. TonyC28 macrumors 65816

    TonyC28

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    I'm getting this too. Weird bug. Otherwise I really like the News app.
     
  8. SBRapaport macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    #8
    I'm getting the same message on cellular network. I've tried researching the last couple of days, tried everything people have mentioned, nothing seems to work. I really hope this gets fixed soon. The news app is amazing when it works, which for me is only when I'm connected to wifi.
     
  9. TonyC28 macrumors 65816

    TonyC28

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    9.0.1 did not fix this for me. Anyone else have any luck? If it matters, I'm using an unlocked Verizon phone on AT&T...maybe that has something to do with it.
     
  10. SBRapaport macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    #10
    9.0.1 did not fix this for me either. I'm using a Verizon iPhone 5s. Very frustrating! I wrote a post on apple forum as well, but haven't heard anything yet.
     
  11. MrGuder macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    #11
    News app refreshes for me, when I open the app it goes right to my For You tab and then in about 5 seconds I can see the spinning refresh cymbal and then news loads all the currents news and I see the time in minutes since it was posted. So mine is working.
     
  12. Mac2me macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    #12
    As point of reference, I'm on 9.0.1, 6+, AT&T and News For You on it runs fine.
     
  13. SBRapaport macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    #13

Share This Page