News from the frozen leopard (alu imac)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Yuppi, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. Yuppi macrumors regular

    Yuppi

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #1
    I know I am a fool, and there is a saying never touch a running system. But I'm ignorant to such advises and had to give leopard a shot on my 24" alu iMac.
    The installation went quite fine and took like 40 minutes. Unlike the promised 1h 40. After 30 minutes I finally got my eyes away from that incredible good designed box that leopard comes in…

    Ok, back to topic. I have 1.0 fine running iMac that was freezing with 1.1. And immediately after my first login I had my first freezing again. So this really proves to me that there is an issue with the driver…
    But as I cannot easily revert back to my old system I tried to reset pram and for now it seems to work. Which does not mean anything, but I will tell you if a freezing occurs again.

    Just for hints, if you chose archive and installed you should better remove all applications from your dock and put them in again as they might point to an invalid application which immediately crashes...
     
  2. gorby macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #2
    Thanks for the heads up
     
  3. Bolteh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #3
    Guess I won't be installing it untill Apple releases a fix for these retarded issues -_-

    5 days to go untill the end of October.. C'mon Apple! You can do it!
     
  4. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #4
    Sorry to hear of your problems. But it was discussed here only yesterday..
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=374403
    Should have been a warning to you!? Albeit one that just shouldn't be necessary from Apple.
    Leopard essentially has the 1.1 update built in now. So if you had problems with the 1.1 update in tiger, then you'll have the same problems in Leopard.
     
  5. Yuppi thread starter macrumors regular

    Yuppi

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #5
    Back to 10.4

    After resetting the PRAM my Mac was fine for some days. But in the last 2 days it crashed way more often with leopard. I am thus back to 10.4 now :(
    I hope Apple comes out with a fix soon.
    I compared the drivers from leopard. They are not just the 1.1 drivers. They are different. My guess is that it is because of the OpenGL extensions which have been implemented. So no way to go back to 1.0 in leopard :(
     
  6. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #6
    I saw this too. According to the Apple system profiler, the ATI graphics extensions are as follows..

    Tiger no updates = V1.5.4
    Tiger with 1.0 update = V1.5.4
    Tiger with 1.1 update = V1.5.6
    Leopard no updates = V1.5.16

    But as we know, not everyones iMacs suffers a freeze caused by the same things. So far, Leopard & my iMac has not frozen once. Not even with UT2004 which was a consistent freeze trigger for my iMac with Tiger regardless of updates applied.
    However, now I worry that some change to the OS further down the line will bring the freezes back :rolleyes:
     
  7. andorino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #7
    Well, that's interesting. I got my 24" iMac on Friday. 0 screen problems (that I can discern), 0 freezes, 0 issues with condensation.

    My driver version information has:

    ATIRadeonX2000:

    Version: 1.5.8
    Last Modified: 9/11/07 3:15 AM
    Get Info String: ATIRadeonX2000 1.5.8.9 (4903)
    Location: /System/Library/Extensions/ATIRadeonX2000.kext
    kext Version: 5.0.8
    Load Address: 0x3cd66000

    This for hardware information:
    ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro:
    Chipset Model: ATI,RadeonHD2600
    Type: Display
    Bus: PCIe
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 256 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x9583
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    ROM Revision: 113-B2250F-212
    EFI Driver Version: 01.00.212

    I'm still running Tiger, waiting on my Leopard up-to-date order (and perhaps for 10.5.1).
     
  8. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #8
    For those checking this thread, there is now an update that should fix this :)
     
  9. ImperialX macrumors 65816

    ImperialX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #9
    The update does nothing. -Confirmed-
     
  10. Luap macrumors 65816

    Luap

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2004
    #10
    Just to add, for those interested..

    Tiger no updates = V1.5.4
    Tiger with 1.0 update = V1.5.4
    Tiger with 1.1 update = V1.5.6
    Leopard no updates = V1.5.16
    Leopard with 1.3 update = V1.5.18

    Not tested Tiger and the 1.2 update, but I would expect it to be similar to Leopard with the 1.3 update.

    Btw, strictly speaking, I still have not installed the 1.3 update, as my iMac had been behaving lately with Leopard. However, I have a second install of Leopard for test purposes on an external hd, so I applied the update to that.

    AppleCare called me this morning too, to kindly remind me that my complimentary 90 days AppleCare cover was about to expire :rolleyes:
     
  11. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #11
    WTH? I thought AppleCare was free for one year?!
     
  12. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #12
    The Applecare that comes with the computer is 1 year technical repair and 90 days phone support.
     

Share This Page