News not showing up in proactive?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by nmeed, Sep 19, 2015.

  1. nmeed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #1
    When I swipe to the right to get to the Proactive screen the news doesn't show up. I have the news app up and running but it's not on The proactive screen.
     
  2. Orlaam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    #2
    Did you check your spotlight and news settings to see if cellular was on? There's like three places to go for that news. The app for one. Then, Settings > General > Spotlight Search > News and Spotlight Suggestions needs to be on.

    In fact, it seems that News can be switched off and only Spotlight Suggestions needs to be on. Not sure. I wanted the news feed off and could only make it go away by turning off Spotlight Suggestions. Which I don't understand. What else am I missing here by turning off Spotlight Suggestions?

    Then Settings > News (below Safari). Turn cellular on, if needed and not on WiFi, and perhaps Show Story Previews.
     
  3. nmeed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #3
    It's a fresh install so everything is enabled by default. I checked all those settings and they were on.
     
  4. marvz macrumors 6502a

    marvz

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Location:
    Berlin
    #4
    I have the same problem. I also get no nearby places. A friend of mine just told me that this morning news are displayed for him. Yesterday they were not.
    And yes, news in Siri Suggestions have nothing to do with the News app. You don't need the News app for them to show up.
     
  5. nmeed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #5
    I don't have nearby places either. I see you're in Berlin, could the issue be if you are outside of America it won't work? Is your friend in Germany?
     
  6. marvz macrumors 6502a

    marvz

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Location:
    Berlin
    #6
    Yeah, he lives also here in Berlin and has the same settings on his iPhone as on mine (language set to English, region set to Germany).
     
  7. nmeed thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #7
    Weird. This doesn't make any sense. Is the search bar on the proactive screen sometimes hidden by the network info and the time? I find I have to double click the home button or something to get it to go back down.
     
  8. Fzang macrumors 65816

    Fzang

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    #8
    Regional restriction probably. Spotlight has always been kind of lame in non-included countries. We'll just have to be content with "proactive" meaning "4 apps you didn't wanna use anyway".

    Edit: Germany appears to be one of the few exclusive countries where features should work as advertised. I don't know then.
     
  9. marvz macrumors 6502a

    marvz

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Location:
    Berlin
    #9
    This. Also I've seen the news part (no nearby-places) working in Siri suggestions here in Germany.
     

Share This Page