News Problem

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Tru7h__07, Aug 10, 2015.

  1. Tru7h__07 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    #1
    As most of us know, one of the most prominent features in iOS 9 is the ability for Siri to fetch data from within other apps.

    And we also know that Apple has now made it possible for people to configure which news sources they want in the recently added News application.

    The problem is that when I update my news sources within the News application, it does not update them to be added to the News section in the Siri Search screen.

    This is the main reason that I looked forward to the addition of the News app- for the ease of interaction with the news that you want. I am unsure if Apple intends to only include the sources that they want, or of this is actually a bug. Either way, I think most would agree that the feature of the News section would be a considerable amount better if it was the news that you select from the News app- and it honestly makes a whole lot of sense.

    Has anyone else encountered this problem? What do you think?

    Thanks,

    Tru7h__07
     
  2. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #2
    News in the Proactive Search screen isn't tied to the News app. It's based off location.

    I'm in Canada and have no access to the News app, but still have news in the Proactive Search screen.
     
  3. Phogro macrumors member

    Phogro

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2015
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #3
    Interesting - what happens when you click on an article in News without having access to the News App? When I click on one of the Proactive suggested news stories it opens within the News App so I thought they were tied to this feature.
     
  4. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #4
    The article opens in Safari when I tap on one from the Proactice Search screen.
     
  5. skinned66 macrumors 65816

    skinned66

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #5
    Same here - and it's all CBC. Have you seen any other sources?
     
  6. lagwagon Suspended

    lagwagon

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    #6
    I've seen ctvnews and pacificcbc and normal cbc but that's about it that I can remember. And 99.9% of the news is nothing I really care about. It would be nice if you could change the sources to something of interest. (Maybe it does if you have the News app and uses you're liked sources?)
     
  7. skinned66 macrumors 65816

    skinned66

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #7
    Agreed. I'm assuming that's how it's going to work. I'm using Google news for this very thing. Once it comes up here I'm hoping to drop my Google ties down to just IMAP and YouTube.

    Thanks for the info, I'm looking forward to other feeds. CBC is fine, but it just doesn't cover everything I like.
     
  8. Iceage macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #8
    I'm from Canada and use RSS feeds for my news from CBC, Globes & Mail, ... It works great when using the Newsify app. I just don't see the use of having the Apple News app.
     

Share This Page