News widget no longer loading stories

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by Kelowna77, Sep 24, 2016.

  1. Kelowna77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #1
    For about two days now my news widget is no longer loaded any stories. If I open the news app I could read the stories, but the widget itself is not working. Has anybody else had this problem?
     
  2. fox1401 macrumors regular

    fox1401

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    #2
    Me too, tried many "solutions" provided by other forum members but no luck.
    IMG_2632.PNG
     
  3. boston04and07 macrumors 65816

    boston04and07

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #3
    I'm having a similar issue - the News widget is loading fine but the Maps Transit widget is just blank on my iPad mini 4. I have 4 lines in the Boston region favorited and the widget is working fine on my 6s. Can't figure it out, but maybe our issues are somehow related?
     
  4. StonewallBrown macrumors regular

    StonewallBrown

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #4
    This has worked for me. Remove the news widget. Then delete the news app. Go to App Store search for news. Download it. Open app. Then re-add widget. Hope it works for you.
     
  5. fox1401 macrumors regular

    fox1401

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    #5
    It worked! Thank you.
     
  6. mikosk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    #6
    I deleted the app and now cannot find it in the app store :(
     
  7. fox1401 macrumors regular

    fox1401

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    #7
    it's in the US apps store.
     
  8. mikosk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    #8
    I am in NYC, it's not showing up in the app store on my iPhone or on iTunes on my laptop. So odd. Even when I go to it via a direct link from google, it just opens the homepage of the app store.
     
  9. StonewallBrown macrumors regular

    StonewallBrown

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #9
    If I screwed you up, I apologize. It did work for me. Hopefully there is just an App Store snafu going on tight now.
     
  10. mikosk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    #10
    No, I was using it wrong. I thought I had deleted it but I had actually had hidden it in restrictions which was my workaround to hide some apps back in iOS9. A whole lot of arm waving for something I did to myself.
     
  11. boston04and07 macrumors 65816

    boston04and07

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    #11
    For anyone having issues like this with other widgets, I just wanted to point out that deleting the Maps app didn't work for me to get the Transit widget up and running again, so maybe the issues were seeing originate with the feeder apps themselves and aren't just a display issue with the widgets pane.
     
  12. StonewallBrown macrumors regular

    StonewallBrown

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2013
    #12
    Glad you got it working!
     

Share This Page