Newsstand in folder if you downgrade

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by MoodyM, Jul 2, 2013.

  1. MoodyM macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #1
    I updated to iOS7 and put Newsstand in a folder (called News). I then downgraded back to 6.1.4 and noticed the little preview of my News folder looked like it was missing a little icon inside, so I opened the folder to see what was going on, and low and behold the Newsstand icon was inside the folder!
     
  2. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #2
    how did you manage that considering ios 7 backups cannot be restored in ios 6 and downgrade is not possible without DFU restore?
     
  3. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #3
    I simply reversed what I did to get to iOS 7 - namely, alt-clicked Update (not Restore) and chose the 6.1.4 ipsw
     
  4. CharismaticNerd macrumors regular

    CharismaticNerd

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #4
    This doesn't explain how you restored your backup?
     
  5. YourHerojb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    #5
    If he did what he just said there wouldn't be a need to restore or use a backup at all.

    Is it working smoothly after downgrading like that?
     
  6. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #6
    This worked? Seriously?

    Were you on beta 1 or 2?
     
  7. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #7
    Beta 2. And it did work, but to be honest I've had some errors that I've never seen before, so I restored now to 6.1.4 using Restore (not Update) (and I never used DFU mode, just a straight Restore).

    The error was a popup in the Dropbox app that kept saying "Connect to iTunes to use Push Notifications" which wouldn't go away, even after connecting to iTunes.
     
  8. solace macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #8
    so far with iOS 7 beta 1 and beta 2, DFU mode is not required at all to downgrade (it even reverts the baseband)

    i've done it both times now on my iPhone 5
     
  9. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #9
    Is your device registered?
    From a lot of the posts on here, DFU sure seems like it's required for unregistered devices.
     
  10. MoodyM thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MoodyM

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    #10
    I don't think mine is, but it was for iOS6 beta, but that was over a year ago...

    ----------

    Pics:

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  11. solace macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #11
    of course. why would anyone use an iOS beta without being registered? :(
     
  12. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #12
    Apparently, a lot of people who make their way here, did not bother registering their devices. Not a wise move, to be sure.
     
  13. solace macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    #13
    ah. their loss i suppose :D
     

Share This Page