Nexus 4 LTE 'Hack'

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by towg, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. towg macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    #1
  2. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #3
    Did you have to change your APN settings? Is there a website for all countries/carriers? Does Virgin have LTE or are you just getting faster HSPA+ speeds?

    Changed it and I'm getting about the same speed I get which isn't great :p

    2012-11-29 03.13.04.png
     
  3. towg thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    #4
    But I only got the phone today!
     
  4. dalbir4444 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #5
    At least you got it:(
     
  5. towg thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    #6
    Virgin uses T Mobile here in the UK. T Mobiles network has LTE (Everything Everywhere)

    I may well be wrong but earlier today I was getting around 2000kbps and its shot up.

    What speeds can I get on HSPA+?

    ----------

    Yep but I had to pay £389 for it from those robbing b"stards Carphone Warehouse :mad:
     
  6. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #7
    Up to 42mbps but I doubt anyone gets anywhere near that.

    We won't be getting LTE in Ireland till next year so I don't know if changing the Set Preferred Network Type to LTE/GSM/CDMA auto (PRL) will have any adverse effects or not.
     
  7. dalbir4444 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #8
    Well that sucks. Is it still not available in the UK Play Store?
     
  8. towg thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    #9
    What network are you on?

    I'm in Cardiff which is one of the cities that has LTE.
     
  9. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #10
    3 because of the unlimited data but it's pretty slow.
     
  10. towg thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Cardiff
    #11
    Neither version is. It was worth part exing my S3 for though - I think.

    ----------


    Oh that explains it then. I didnt realise it could be that fast!

    I'm probably just on HSPA then :(
     

Share This Page