Nike run club app

Discussion in 'Apple Watch Apps' started by towolf, Apr 6, 2017.

Tags:
  1. towolf macrumors newbie

    towolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    Anyone else having issues with the latest version of the Nike run club app (AW2)? I had ran about 200km both indoor and outdoor with no issues, but the last 2 updates (5.4 and 5.5) have caused the app to continuously crash. Anywhere from 1.5km to 3km into the run the app crashes on the watch and goes back to the start screen. I've been communicating with Nike support on twitter (very responsive so far) but no resolution yet. Really wish I could revert back to version 5.3.
     
  2. Bob190 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 21, 2015
    #2
    You may have already done this, but I always completely uninstall the previous version from the phone and watch prior to installing the new version. I am on 5.5.1 and haven't had any issues.
     
  3. towolf thread starter macrumors newbie

    towolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto
    #3
    Yea that trick worked after 5.4 crashed but hasn't worked for 5.5.1. Maybe I'll try it again. It seems to be a communication issue with the phone as my phone seems to think a run is still be tracked on the watch.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 6, 2017 ---
    My apologies, just realized there is a similar thread to this on the apps board. Mods, please feel free to move.
     
  4. TRICKorDEVICE macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #4
    I'm having the crashing too. It shouldn't require an uninstall/fresh install to work properly.

    Here's what I've been doing. If you start the run on the phone, it will still show on the watch, but if the watch app crashes, the phone will keep going and properly not lose the run.

    I'm hoping the next version fixes this, a recent NRC app review online (9to5) stated this was an issue as well.
     
  5. xDKP macrumors 65816

    xDKP

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #5
    I've been a massive Nike+ fan and user and would actually like to test it out again. Used it for like 10 years before abandoning it after they screwed up massively on the Apple Watch (haven't used the Nike system since Apple Watch S0 was released.

    Is it worth giving them a try again? If I don't want to bring my phone along is it also good?
     
  6. towolf thread starter macrumors newbie

    towolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    I had been very pleased with the watch and Nike+ app up until these recent problems. I ran both with and without the phone with no issues.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 7, 2017 ---
    Thanks, I'll give this a try tomorrow.
     
  7. matrix07 macrumors 601

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #7
    Is there anyway to transfer my plan onto the watch?
     
  8. towolf thread starter macrumors newbie

    towolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto
    #8
    Success. Did a re-install last night and started a run on the phone this morning. 10km with no issues on watch or phone. Also took my tomtom runner as a backup and they both tracked fairly close pace and overall distance.
     
  9. andrewstirling macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #9
    Nah unfortunately not but you can assign runs to your plan once they are complete. Interval training is also completely impossible using the watch alone which seems like a needless and frustrating limitation.
     
  10. towolf thread starter macrumors newbie

    towolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto
    #10
    For anyone else having this issue, putting the watch on DND also seems to work. 3 successful runs in a row.
     
  11. towolf thread starter macrumors newbie

    towolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    Looks like the latest update is working so far. Although a 1hr 25 run on Saturday did not push the workout mins to the health app and therefore missed out on the earth day badge. All other metrics pushed fine. Arghhh, annoying.
     
  12. daleam macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    #12
    Is that running with just the watch? Or watch tethered to the phone?
     
  13. towolf thread starter macrumors newbie

    towolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto
    #13
    That was with watch and phone. I started the run on my phone and ended it with the watch. Not sure if that's why things got messed up.
     
  14. jsmitty, Apr 26, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2017

    jsmitty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Location:
    NC
    #14
    My last 2 gps runs using aw only would not upload to the nike app after my runs. The run information shows up in the activity app on my watch and my iPhone and the nike app on my watch lists the correct distance from my last run.

    I deleted the nike run app and reinstalled but now when I try to open the app on my watch it just says to open the iPhone app to get started. I open the iPhone app and nothing happens on my watch.

    Any suggestions?

    The aw app finally started working but all sign of that gps run in Nike run is gone.
     
  15. xDKP macrumors 65816

    xDKP

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #15
    Damn'it Nike! I was so close to trying out the app again after a couple of years break from the Nike plus system (long long time user before it) but stuff like this just doesn't happen on the build in app - and would hate my long runs not to be uploaded
     
  16. romain31000 macrumors newbie

    romain31000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Location:
    Dubai
    #16
    Hi everyone,

    I've been using the NRC app with the AW Nike+ edition and I recently realized the time split is not the same on the AW and the iPhone.
    Attached, you will see screenshots of the same run (I use both AW and iPhone for my runs as I figured out that the AW GPS is not really accurate).

    So there are 2 screenshots from my AW and another from the iPhone.
    Same run but different time splits.
    Anyone encountered the same issue?

    Thanks
    Romain
     

    Attached Files:

  17. xDKP macrumors 65816

    xDKP

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    #17
    Looks a bit weird - like it calculates it differently ?

    Regarding the GPS chip, I have seen several tests where the AW GPS did great. My only gripe is that I'm not able to ensure GPS lock on before starting my run (using build in workout app) as I have seen a couple of runs where I start right away and the first kilometre is a bit off
     
  18. romain31000 macrumors newbie

    romain31000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2017
    Location:
    Dubai
    #18
    Exactly, it looks like it calculates differently. Distance and total time are the same but time splits are different.
    Regarding the GPS, I will try again.
    Maybe after a few runs, calibration will be better.

    I will post again if I see the time split are still different
     

Share This Page