Nike+ Run Club issue

Discussion in 'Apple Watch Apps' started by ryanmp, Dec 6, 2016.

  1. ryanmp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    #1
    I gave Nike+ Run Club a try for the first time today using my Apple Watch without my iPhone. Everything seemed to be perfect with the tracking and when I finished my run. The distance recorded by the Apple Watch in the summary of Nike+ matched previous runs using Strava and my iPhone almost exactly.

    My watch then synced with my phone and I opened up the Nike+ app on my iPhone. Again the distance recorded said ~5km in Nike+

    I then opened the map on my phone in Nike+ and although it says 5km, the starting point in green is in completely the wrong spot. Its so weird because the distance the lines are showing on that map is not 5km.

    I then exported the data using Nike+ to Strava exporter. It seems the raw GPS data is showing starting at the green dot like the map below, so when I imported that into Strava it only recorded the run as ~4km.

    Anyone had this issue?? How can the GPS data be 4km, but then Nike+ still shows it as 5km??? So confused.


    Screen Shot 2016-12-06 at 8.19.00 pm.png
     
  2. nyisles84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #2
    I have read that sometimes it takes a watch a couple of moments to get a gps lock. I don't know why that show the distance run in the data but not on the map though. Also, what are you using to export Nike+ data to Strava?
     
  3. ryanmp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    #3
    Yea it was over 1km from my start point to where the green dot is on the map, where it appears the GPS signal was first captured.

    I used http://nike.vinz.xyz/ to do the transfer. The map that then appeared in Strava matched the one I screenshot'd above perfectly. AlStrava reported the distance as 4.1km not 5km, which is exactly correct for the run assuming it started at the green dot.

    I was thinking afterwards, is it possible that for some reason the GPS signal was not acquired when I started the run and NRC was actually using the accelerometer for that first KM. That would explain why it still recorded ~5km but the GPS data is only ~4km...
     
  4. ryanmp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    #4
    I fixed the problem..

    SOLUTION: On the iPhone, hold down on the Nike+ app. Tap the X on the icon and then hit delete.
     
  5. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #5
    Not sure how deleting the NRC app from the iPhone would solve your problem ... unless you're being sarcastic and saying that the solution is to not use NRC at all.

    I'm heavily invested in Nike for all of my data, but the current state of the app and the website is leaving me very very underwhelmed. I might go to a new platform, but I'm very cheap and I don't want to pay for "premium" features. I really wish Apple would open up the data from the built-in Workout app.

    ft
     
  6. ryanmp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    #6
    Yes I was being sarcastic.

    Honestly Nike is living up to its reputation of being complete garbage, what a terrible app.
     
  7. dallison13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #7
    App has been updated. Might wanna see if some of your issues have been ironed out.
     

Share This Page