Nike Running App, Series 2 and Heart Rate Not Working

Discussion in 'Apple Watch Apps' started by eastamherstbias, Jan 3, 2017.

  1. eastamherstbias macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #1
    When I run with the NRC app on the watch series 2 with or without the iPhone. I am still not getting it to log the heart rate after the run. Does anyone have it work? Am I missing something or a setting?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Gwhite1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    #2
    Hi
    Mine was like that but it just seems to take longer to sync over.

    Give it a hour or two

    Gary
     
  3. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #3
    Make sure you have the correct setting on the Apple Watch. On the start screen, scroll down to the settings and turn "All Metrics" to the ON position.

    The setting in the picture you attached is on the iPhone, so it's looking for an attached HR strap/monitor on the iPhone.

    If that's not the problem, make sure you don't have a HR strap/monitor connected to the apple watch. I don't think the Nike app on the watch uses HR data provided by an attached HR monitor, and the AW turns off the built-in HR sensor if a BT HR monitor is attached, so it's a catch-22.

    Another thing to check is your Health app data on the iPhone. Go to the HR data and check to see if there's any HR readings during the time(s) that you're using the Nike app.

    EDIT - BTW, I have a bunch of observations that I posted about the behavior of the Nike app. Here's the post.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...-polar-bt-hr-monitor-experimentation.2016060/

    ft
     
  4. eastamherstbias thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #4
    Thanks for the tip. Unfortunately it has been days. So in my case it is something else. It should not be this complicated!
    --- Post Merged, Jan 5, 2017 ---
    Ok all of my settings are correct. I just did a test. ON the activities apple app the workout shows up with a HR from the watch. I then went into the NRC app and it is not there. I have deleted the app and reinstalled and the same conclusion is reached.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Restlesslegs macrumors member

    Restlesslegs

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    #5
    Same here - HR never shows up in the Nike app itself. Also, I use the Nike+ complication for the modular watch face, this one also never updates, shows 41.59km ever since I installed it, for whatever reason... Doesn't bother me too much though, I anyway use the complication only to start the app...
     
  6. eastamherstbias thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #6
    Update- I called Nike+ Support. The tech could not solve the issue and the NRC app still won't pull and save the heart rate data after the run has been completed. He took my number and the next level support is going to call by Wednesday. So we wait.
     
  7. dallison13 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #7
    The same thing happens to me. This is how you fix it. That is, until Nike fixes their sync issues.

    Upload the run, let it do it's thing. And just wait until it's done syncing on it's own. Go get a beer or coffee.

    After a bit, go back and RE-NAME your run. Go back a screen and it will re-sync again. Look at your run, and you will notice that your data has downloaded back to your app.

    I actually went back and re-did all my runs for Jan. Literally found this on accident.
     
  8. eastamherstbias thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2012
    #8
    Nope No Deal..... I appreciate the help.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. tkao2025 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #9
    Anybody else still having problems? I have all metrics turned on and it's still not registering my heart rate.
     
  10. john991 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario
    #10
    Just wondering if you updated the nike app? As Nike updated it a few days ago.
     
  11. tkao2025 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    Yeah I did update and ran with it this morning. The app is definitely more responsive. However, I ran outside and it did not map out the route when the watch synced. Just has the colorful circle. Not sure if this is a one off or another bug.
     
  12. mk313 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2012
    #12
    I've had that happen occasionally (maybe 3 times) since I've owned the watch, throughout different versions of the app. I have no idea what causes it, but, at least in my case, it seems to have been an anomaly, and it goes back to mapping with my next run. Hopefully your experience is the same.

    FWIW, I ran with the new app yesterday & it worked fine, including downloading my map to the phone/web interface, etc
     
  13. tkao2025 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #13
    It didn't register again this morning so I wrote to Nike support. Furthermore, it's not registering my heart rate either.
     
  14. David190 macrumors newbie

    David190

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2018
    #14
    I was having the same problem and I think I’ve fixed it. Before you begin the workout on your phone, open the app on your watch.

    Your watch will then realise a workout has been started and will show you updates as you exercise.

    Let me know if this works for you?

    *first post on MacRumors
     
  15. ftaok macrumors 603

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #15
    Welcome to the forums.

    Regarding the need to start the run via the iPhone. If you do that, the voice-overs will come from the iPhone. Depending on where you keep the phone, you may or may not hear it. If you start the run using the AW, then the voice-overs come from the AW speaker.

    NRC isn't smart enough to allow you to choose which speaker to play the voice-overs.

    Also, if you start the run with the AW, it will use the AW's GPS, not the iPhone's. This could be a hit to your battery and could be an issue on longer runs.
     
  16. Watchjenrace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    #16
    --- Post Merged, Feb 18, 2018 ---
    I think I figured it out! On your phone, go to the Watch app, go to General and scroll down to Workout Power Saving Mode and turn it off.
    I had my heart rate working for months and then a few months ago, I noticed my heart rate wasn’t displaying. I changed this setting from on to off, went for a short run and now I can see my heart rate again on the Nike app.
     
  17. jajaboss macrumors newbie

    jajaboss

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    #17
    Solve it!!! Go to setting > gerenal > workout > DISABLE Autopause

    now GPS back again
     
  18. jgregory78 macrumors newbie

    jgregory78

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2018
    #18
    I've figured out how to solve the issue. Here's what I did:

    1) Uninstalled the app from my watch using the phone (toggle "show app on Apple watch" on to off, then off to on)
    2) Launch the Nike App from Watch
    3) Setup the Watch using the Nike App
    4) Go to Health App on Iphone
    5) Go to Sources
    6) Click Nike + Run Club under Apps
    7) Scroll Down and Allow Nike Run app to read data (Heart Rate is one of them. I allowed all)

    That should do it.

    For your runs, if you have a circle and not a map, it means that you are in "Indoor" mode. It thinks you are on a treadmill. Before your run, make sure you are on "outdoor". Scroll all the way to the right and make sure Indoor is "off"
     

Share This Page