Nikon 85mm f/1.8 for occasional portrait use

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Westside guy, May 27, 2010.

1. Westside guy macrumors 601

Westside guy

Hi,

I don't shoot a lot of portraits, and I don't really aspire to do so. However I seem to end up shooting just enough that it might be nice to pick up a lens more suited to that purpose. I know Nikon's rumored to have a 85mm f/1.4 update in the works; but I don't really want to drop $1200 or more on a lens that's only going to see sporadic use.

So I was curious to hear from people who've shot people using the current f/1.8 version of Nikon's 85mm lens - do you give it a thumbs up or down?

Whatever I end up with will be used on my Nikon D700. I'm not looking to be a photographer by trade - I'm a web developer. While most any decent lens will work well enough for the web, it's not uncommon for students to ask me for the photos I've taken so they can use them for other purposes. Really my main interest is having a larger aperture for a) subject isolation and b) shorter shutter speeds in so-so light, since I prefer to shoot them outdoors whenever the weather cooperates.

Thanks for any feedback or alternate suggestions you might have!

2. jmdfd415 macrumors regular

the nikon 85mm 1.8d is an amazing lens I absolutly love mine! I use it for much more than just portraits. Since it has the 1.8 aperture it comes in really handy during concerts and helps get pictures of the drummer which is usually not the easiest thing to do. I would def recommend it. It is very sharp, focuses fast, and the bokeh is very nice!

3. seedster2 macrumors 6502a

I have an 85mm 1.4 for sale at much less than 1200 if you're interested;)

I have heard great things about the f1.8. While it won't produce the same bokeh, for your purposes it should be just fine.

4. Westside guy thread starter macrumors 601

Westside guy

Thanks, guys, for the feedback - I appreciate it!