Nikon Camera/Too much USB power error

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by brn2rnjk1, Jul 15, 2013.

  1. brn2rnjk1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    #1
    We have a 212 iMac (27 inch). I tried to plug in our new small Nikon camera and got this error message

    To prevent damaging your computer, the USB device drawing too much power has been disabled. Other devices may have also been disabled. When you disconnect the device drawing too much power, your other USB devices will be enabled again.

    Not sure what to do. Thanks
     
  2. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #2
    The message is saying the camera is trying to pull more power from the USB port then it can supply. USB devices are allowed to pull a small amount of current when plugging in but the protocol requires they "ask" if they can have more. Your iMac simply told the camera "no, you can't have more".

    What can you do about it? Buy a powered USB hub that has a "beefy" and large size power cube. Powered hubs can supply more power to power hungry devices. Plug the camera into the hub.

    It might be that you already have other power hungry USB devices plugging in the the iMac. Where you charging a Phone or iPod? The USB system may have run out of total available current. Unplug every other USB device and try again. It that does not work, buy a large sized powered hub.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    A few thoughts...

    Was the camera on or off when you tried plugging it in?

    If it was off, try turning it on, and _then_ plugging it in.

    If that's still a no-go, I suggest that you buy a USB card reader for the memory card that you have in the camera. Should work well without the "power problems"...
     
  4. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #4
    Isn't there an SD card reader on there if it's a 2012 model?

    Anyway, it's the cable. Some cameras come with really weak ones. I know mine did. You just need to buy a standard one.
     

Share This Page