Nikon D40 RAW file size discrepancy

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by rogersmj, Apr 30, 2008.

  1. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #1
    I remember some of the reviews I read indicating that the D40 produced RAW files that were around 17 or 18MB...the RAW files I'm getting from mine are about 6-7MB. Am I missing out on something? How big should 6MP RAW files really be? As far as I can tell there aren't quality settings for RAW, since it's just sensor data, right?
     
  2. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #2
    Nothing wrong with the camera it's normal for raw. 6mp x 3 colour channels =18.
     
  3. rogersmj thread starter macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #3
    I'm confused...first, 6MP != 6MB. Second...if they're supposed to be 18MB, why are mine only 6MB?
     
  4. compuwar macrumors 601

    compuwar

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Location:
    Northern/Central VA
    #4
    My D2x only produces 12MB NEFs, I think you misread or misremembered something. AFAIR, the D40 only produces compressed NEFs, so you're likely in the top of the range if they're 6-7MB.
     
  5. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #5
    The D40X I have produces RAW files that are around 10 MB.
     
  6. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #6
    Using rough maths, my 5D is 12.8mp the RAW file size is between 12-14mb. Uncompressed the images are around 36mb
     
  7. rogersmj thread starter macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
  8. TimJim macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #8
    My D80 produces RAW's at about 9mb and it has 10.2 mp
     
  9. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #9
    wrong !

    the camera sensor records only one colour per pixel. The 3 colour per pixel info is generated when the file is converted with a raw convetor.
     
  10. Everythingisnt macrumors 6502a

    Everythingisnt

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #10
    Dang.

    Cameras should use the Videocamera 3-chip system then :p.
     

Share This Page