Nikon D40

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by fireshot91, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #1
    How come I can't connect my D40 to my Mac?

    It has a SD card in it, but I don't have a card reader, so I put in the SD card into the camera, and connect it to my PM G5. I don't have iPhoto or Aperture.

    Shouldn't it just mount on my desktop?

    It works fine on my PCs. The format of the SD card is NTFS I think.
    Also, it isn't in Disk Utility.
    The camera show's "Connecting to PC"
     
  2. iyacyas macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    #2
    What OS are you running? It may be that the OS has no extensions built into it to recognize the camera. In other words you may need to load a driver of some sort if you are using Panther for example.
     
  3. fireshot91 thread starter macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #3
    I'm on Leopard. 10.5.7.

    Sorry, about not mentioning that.

    I downloaded/installed Nikon Transfer, but that doesn't detect a camera.
     
  4. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #4
    In the camera, change from USB mass storage to PTP mode.
     
  5. fireshot91 thread starter macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #5
    What does that do.

    After I did that, and restarted the camera, the screen is just black.
     
  6. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #6
    USB mass storage allows the camera to be used as a card reader.
    PTP allows programs to talk to it (not as a filesystem).

    And the format of the card is FAT32 (maybe FAT16 if upto to 2GB).
     
  7. Padraic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere between here and there...
    #7
    I have my D40 set in PTP mode... If you don't have iPhoto or Aperture, you can use 'Image Capture', it should be in your Applications folder.

    Connect your D40 and run Image Capture, it should connect to and it give you some options as what to do with the pictures on the camera.

    *Edit: I just changed modes on my camera, with the camera set to PTP it won't show as a drive in the finder. With it set to MSC (Mass Storage) it will show up as a drive in the finder. Image Capture works with the camera in either mode. If it doesn't work, try connecting the USB cable directly to your Mac instead of going through a hub. I've found a lot of hubs get flaky at times.

    Patrick
     
  8. fireshot91 thread starter macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #8
    I figured out my problem (Oh by the way, the way I was doing it, Image Capture didn't even see it).

    I was using a Y USB cable. Two USB A's that connect to PC, and one Mini USB that connects to camera.

    I was using the underpowered USB A for my computer. As soon as I switched it, it showed up in Image Capture. :p
     
  9. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #9
    I think you mean you were plugging the connector that is used only for power, and no data.
     

Share This Page